Battlefield Band Happy Daze

Happy Daze
1 rating
Price: $20.63
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  Q553
Brand New

Related products:

  • by Battlefield Band ~ Dookin' ~ $15.29

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Temple Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Dirty Linen - 8-9/01, p.55
"...With a vibrant woman's voice in the mix, their sound is different now, but still true to their identity as one of Scotland's best traditional bands..."
Mojo (Publisher) - 1/02, p.69
Included in Mojo's "Best Folk of 2001".


  • Buy for $0.991.The Devil's Courtship
  • Buy for $0.992.Medium Man / Floating Candles / Nighean Cailleach Nan Cearc
  • Buy for $0.993.The Banks of Red Roses
  • Buy for $0.994.Tiny Wee Vin / The Road To The Aisle
  • Buy for $0.995.The Riccarton Tollman's Daughter
  • Buy for $0.996.Shepherd Lad
  • Buy for $0.997.The Merry Macs / Dr. Iain MacAonghais / Fonn Air Cailleach An T-Siosalaich
  • Buy for $0.998.Happy Days
  • Buy for $0.999.Whaur Will We Gang?
  • Buy for $0.9910.A Mile Down The Road / Johnny's Jig / Boys Of The Puddle
  • Buy for $0.9911.Start It All Over Again
  • Buy for $0.9912.(Untitled) - (hidden track)
  • Buy for $0.9913.(Untitled) - (hidden track)
  • Buy for $0.9914.(Untitled) - (hidden track)
  • Buy for $0.9915.(Untitled) - (hidden track)

Product Description:

Battlefield Band includes: Karine Polwart (vocals, guitar).
Recorded at Temple Records Studio, Midlothian, Scotland.
Personnel: Karine Polwart (vocals, guitar); John McCusker (cittern, fiddle); Alison Kinnaird (cello); Mike Katz (small pipes, bagpipe); Simon Thoumire (concertina); Robin Morton (percussion).
Recording information: Temple Records Studio, Midlothian, Scotland.
Arrangers: Mike Katz; Karine Polwart.
Happy Daze offers something completely different for Battlefield Band fans: the presence of a talented female. Karine Polwart joins John McCusker, Alan Reid, and Mike Katz for a lively and immediately likable album. In "The Devil's Courtship" Reid invites the young lass to "gang along wi' me" while Polwart politely demurs, at least until the price is right. Polwart sings lead on the lovely "The Banks of Red Roses," accompanied by whistles, keyboards, and exquisite fiddle. The addition of her voice adds an emotional warmth to the proceedings, expanding the overall sound and offering a perfect counterpoint to Reid's vocals. The album isn't just a vocal affair. "Tini Wee Vin/The Road to the Aisle" and a number of lively jigs filled with whistles, fiddle, guitar, and pipes sit happily between the vocal tracks. While it has sometimes been noted that the Battlefield Band uses non-traditional instruments like synthesizers, their music carries the spirit of old Scotland. The arrangements are simple and straightforward, tastefully supporting each tune. Other notable songs include the story of the modest "Sheppard Lad" who loses the lady fair because he behaves as a gentleman when he finds her skinny-dipping at the local swimming hole. She admonishes him, singing "had you done as you desired/I'd never have left you there," adding an interesting -- if non-politically correct -- twist to this tale. The title track is a slow, moving piece, with pipes and fiddle painting a peaceful, if melancholy, landscape. Happy Daze succeeds on a number of levels, and will be welcomed by the group's fans and lovers of traditional Scottish music. ~ Ronnie D. Lankford, Jr.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Battlefield Band

Product Info

  • UPC: 096045208525
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)