Sugar Minott The Roots Lover: 1978-1983 (2-CD)

The Roots Lover: 1978-1983 (2-CD)
Price: $12.58
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  GEX3
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Forcex

Entertainment Reviews:

The Wire - p.72
"[A] collection of some of the singer's finest maxi singles with extended versions....Also present is Sugar in his DJ incarnation as Papa Honey....All in all, an essential addition to Minott's available catalogue."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.118
"[H]e is right up there with such fellow giants as Dennis Brown and the Mighty Diamonds when it comes to exquisite vocals and finely crafted rhythms."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Leggo the Dread
  • 2.Dance Hall Style
  • 3.A Slice of the Cake
  • 4.African Girl
  • 5.Waiting for Your Love
  • 6.No Vacancy
  • 7.Hold On
  • 8.Love Life
  • 9.In a Dis Yah Time

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Rome, Rome
  • 2.Superstar (Ranking Dread)
  • 3.Three Wise Men
  • 4.Sandy
  • 5.Thirty Pieces of Silver (Yabby You)
  • 6.Careless Ethiopians
  • 7.Africa
  • 8.Dub on the Pressure

Product Description:

Personnel: Sugar Minott (vocals); Dwight Pinkney, Bingy Bunny, Noel Sowell Bailey (guitar); David Madden, Felix "Deadly" Headley (horns); Ansel Collins (piano, organ); Gladstone Anderson (piano); Wycliffe "Steely" Johnson (organ, keyboards); Fish Clarke, Albert Malawi, Style Scott, Leroy "Horsemouth" Wallace, Sly Dunbar, Carlton "Santa" Davis (drums); Ranking Dread, Roots Radics, Yabby You.
Photographer: Elke Hartl.
Translator: Gareth Davies .
It's under-represented in the age of the CD reissue, but often roots reggae and early dancehall were first made available in 12" versions that were really the future A-side and the future B-side version mashed closely together. Despite the simplicity, the device worked well, pleasingly extending the grooves past the five-minute mark while giving some impression of how the legendary sound systems of Jamaica would segue versions and dubs while working an audience. The Moll-Selekta label will win over the reggae 12" collector's heart with this compilation of hard to find extended mixes from the sweet-voiced Sugar Minott. Best news of all, the collection sounds phenomenal with the Basic Channel label's deep lathe wizard Moritz Von Oswald handling the ear-bud-killing, thumping remastering and "restoration." Compare the remastered and extended "A Slice of Cake" to the original and it's obvious how the slow, angry simmer of the track works better here. Lighter material like the sweet "African Girl" benefits from this treatment, too, as the track joyfully skips down the road for eight minutes with dub version trailing. It's also the track to check to see if you agree with Von Oswald's mastering, which doesn't mind pushing the meter into the red if it means the low end is gonna shake. As for Minott himself, he's savoring each song and often letting grooves run their course without much interruption, something easier to do on a 12" than an album. While the collection lacks key tracks, front-loads the ones it does have, and focuses on only one era of the man's career, the songs here are presented just how the core reggae audience first consumed them. Check another Minott comp if you're unfamiliar with the artist, then come back here when you're ready to sprawl out to some really authentic sounds. ~ David Jeffries

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Sugar Minott

Product Info

  • UPC: 4015698637021
  • Shipping Weight: 0.18/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)