Freddy Cannon Where the Action Is: The Very Best, 1964-1981

Where the Action Is: The Very Best, 1964-1981
9 ratings
Price: $12.58
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  SDY5
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Varese Fontana


  • 1.Abigail Beecher
  • 2.All American Girl
  • 3.Little Fender Bender - (previously unreleased)
  • 4.Action
  • 5.It's Happening
  • 6.Let Me Show You Where It's At
  • 7.Beachwood City
  • 8.The Dedication Song
  • 9.The Laughing Song
  • 10.Natalie
  • 11.Rockin' Robin - (previously unreleased)
  • 12.In My Wildest Dreams
  • 13.Ride, Roller Coaster, Ride - (previously unreleased)
  • 14.(We're Gonna) Rock Around the Clock
  • 15.Beautiful Downtown Burbank
  • 16.Charged-Up, Turned-Up Rock-N-Roll Singer
  • 17.Rock & Roll ABC's
  • 18.Let's Put the Fun Back in Rock & Roll

Product Description:

Personnel: Freddy Cannon (vocals); Charlie Calello (arranger, conductor); Don McGinniss, Al Capps (arranger); Glen Campbell, James Burton (guitar); Leon Russell (piano); Carol Kaye (bass); Hal Blaine (drums); The Belmonts, David Gates (background vocals).
Producers include: Frank Slay, Bob Crewe, Dick Galasser, Russ Regan, Bob Feldman.
Compilation producer: Cary E. Mansfield.
Recorded between 1964 & 1981. Includes liner notes by Bill Dahl.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Liner Note Author: Bill Dahl.
Arrangers: Al Capps; Charles Calello.
Most of Cannon's best-known, and best, hits were done for Swan Records in the late '50s and early '60s. This CD, however, focuses on his post-Swan career, a period that saw him land two big hits ("Abigail Beecher" and "Action," both here naturally). All but two of these 18 tracks came out between 1964-1970. Some slight surf/hot rod influences show up on songs like "All American Girl," "Let Me Show You Where It's At," and "Beachwood City"; "In My Wildest Dreams" sounded like Gary Lewis, perhaps unsurprisingly, as Leon Russell (who also worked with Lewis) arranged. There's a remake of "Rock Around the Clock," "Beautiful Downtown Burbank" (based around a running joke on the Laugh-In TV show), and the medley of some his old hits that passed for "Charged-Up, Turned-Up Rock-n-Roll Singer"; the 1974 single "Rock & Roll ABC's" is also here. Three of the songs, including a 1967 remake of "Rockin' Robin," were previously unreleased. ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 9 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Freddy Cannon

Product Info

  • UPC: 030206634129
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)