Luiz Bonfa Le Roi de la Bossa Nova

Le Roi de la Bossa Nova
4 ratings
11 copies available
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  J47S
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Sunny Side

Entertainment Reviews:

JazzTimes - pp.130-131
"The album] features Bonfa's rhythmically charged guitar style and his extraordinary, expressive vocal."


  • Buy for $0.991.Bonfa Nova
  • Buy for $0.992.Cantiga da Vida
  • Buy for $0.993.Amor Por Amor
  • Buy for $0.994.Dor que Faz Doer
  • Buy for $0.995.Samba de Duas Notas
  • Buy for $0.996.Teu Olhar Triste
  • Buy for $0.997.Lila
  • Buy for $0.998.Voce Chegou
  • Buy for $0.999.Santeleco
  • Buy for $0.9910.Balaio
  • Buy for $0.9911.Sorrindo
  • Buy for $0.9912.Bossa em Re
  • Buy for $0.9913.Voce Chegou
  • Buy for $0.9914.Saudade Vem Correndo
  • Buy for $0.9915.Mania de Maria
  • Buy for $0.9916.Sincopado Triste

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Philippe Lesage.
Recording information: Paris, France (1962-1963).
Translator: Martin Davies.
While it's true that Luiz Bonf  is a forgotten name among many bossa nova lovers -- past and present -- a forgotten name rarely associated with his younger peers he influenced (Jobim, Gilberto, de Moraes) who took the music to international popularity. Bonf  is a ghost whose shadow looms large over the music, whether he is well known or not. He composed both main themes for Black Orpheus, which ended up on the hit soundtrack. Here Bonf  does what he does best: play an amazing guitar, arrange a series of uncredited session players, sing, and dig deep into the roots of bossa nova as it comes out of samba, but then return it changed but folded into the tradition. Tracks like "Samba de Duas Notas" ("Two Note Samba"), with its beautiful guitar/flute front line slipping around and through one another in the bridge, are typical of this man's artistry and innovative. The gorgeous ballad "Lila" offers a portrait of Bonf  the balladeer. His deep, fluid fingerpicking style colors each melodic phrase, shades the changes, and offers a harmonic and technical invention that guitarists like Tal Farlow would kill for. "Sudade Vem Correndo" comes off like a jazz tune with a horn section upfront and Bonf  leading the rhythm section, which includes a piano. He may get lost a little in the mix, which is ancient, but he's there setting the deep groove in the tune. His comping behind the pianist's solo actually gives him a wider palette to improvise upon. Ultimately, this is a beautiful set, one that singularly displays many but not all of Bonf 's gifts. It is deep bossa, but its airiness, light, and song-like qualities equal its technical excellence, and make it accessible to anyone interested in the music. [A Sunnyside reissue of the album added a four-cut EP called En Direct du Bresil ("Direct from Brazil"), recorded and issued the same year as the LP program, 1963.] ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Luiz Bonfa

Product Info

  • UPC: 016728303729
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)