Woody Guthrie Columbia River Collection

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 5.0
4 ratings
11 copies available
List Price: $17.98
Your Price: $16.18
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  ROUP 611036

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: August 1, 1988
  • Label: Rounder / Umgd


  • 1.Oregon Trail
  • 2.Roll On Columbia
  • 3.New Found Land
  • 4.Talking Columbia
  • 5.Roll Columbia Roll
  • 6.Columbia's Waters
  • 7.Ramblin' Blues
  • 8.It Takes A Married Man To Sing A Worried Song
  • 9.Hard Travelin'
  • 10.Biggest Thing That Man Has Ever Done
  • 11.Jackhammer Blues
  • 12.Song Of The Coulee Dam
  • 13.Grand Coulee Dam
  • 14.Washington Talkin' Blues
  • 15.Ramblin' Round
  • 16.Pastures Of Plenty
  • 17.End Of My Line

Product Description:

Solo performer: Woody Guthrie (vocals, guitar).
Recorded in 1941.
Adapter: Woody Guthrie.
Personnel: Woody Guthrie (vocals, guitar).
Liner Note Author: Woody Guthrie.
In the '30s, Woody Guthrie spent an extended period in the Columbia River valley of the Pacific Northwest. It was here that he wrote many of the songs that helped cement his legend as the pre-eminent American folk singer and songwriter of his generation. These songs are collected on the Rounder compilation THE COLUMBIA RIVER COLLECTION.
Many of the songs are directly related to the river, like the topical odes to the river's then-current WPA projects, "Song of the Coulee Dam," "Grand Coulee Dam," and "The Biggest Thing Man Has Ever Done." Others are paeans to the untamed beauty of the river and its environs, like the majestic "Roll on Columbia." Some songs are dedicated to the workers, like "Jackhammer Blues" and the wry self-parody "It Takes a Married Man to Song a Worried Song." The gospel-tinged "Pastures of Plenty" is the album's highpoint, and one of Guthrie's very best.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Woody Guthrie

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 131,363
  • UPC: 011661103627
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item