Johnny Adams There Is Always One More Time

There Is Always One More Time
2 ratings
Price: $16.18
List Price: $17.98
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  J43V
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Rounder / Umgd

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 11/3/00, p.83
"...Reminds us, agian, that some of pop's greatest singers have lived and died far away from the publicity mills." - Rating: A-
Living Blues - 1-2/01, pp.76-7


  • Buy for $0.991.I Feel Like Breaking Up Somebody's Home
  • Buy for $0.992.Happy Hard Times
  • Buy for $0.993.I'll Only Miss Him When I Think Of Him - (featuring Alvin "Red" Tyler)
  • Buy for $1.294.I Don't Know - (featuring Ruth Brown)
  • Buy for $0.995.Lovers Will
  • Buy for $0.996.One Foot In The Blues
  • Buy for $0.997.Even Now
  • Buy for $0.998.Body And Fender Man
  • Buy for $0.999.There Is Always One More Time
  • Buy for $0.9910.Walking On A Tightrope
  • Buy for $0.9911.I Don't Want To Do Wrong
  • Buy for $0.9912.Lot Of Living To Do, A - (with Harry Connick Jr.)
  • Buy for $0.9913.Wish I'd Never Loved You At All
  • Buy for $0.9914.But Not For Me
  • Buy for $0.9915.Never Alone - (with Aaron Neville)

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Johnny Adams, Ruth Brown, Aaron Neville (vocals); Duke Robillard, Wayne Bennett, Michael Toles, Walter "Wolfman" Washington (guitar); Bill Foots (alto & baritone saxophones); Ed Petersen, Alvin "Red" Tyler (tenor saxophone); Terry Tullos (trumpet); Craig Wroten (piano, Hammond B-3 organ, synthesizer); Mac "Dr. John" Rebennack (piano, Hammond B-3 organ); Harry Connick, Jr., David Torkanowski, Jon Cleary (piano); Dr. Lonnie Smith (organ); James Singleton, David Berard, George Porter, Jr., Darrell Francis, Sr. (bass); Johnny Vidacovich, Shannon Powell, Herlin Riley (drums); George "Geeje" Jackson, Jr. (congas).
Principally recorded at Ultrasonic Studios, New Orleans, Louisiana. Includes liner notes by Scott Billington.
Digitally remastered by Laurie B. Flannery (Northeastern Digital Recording, Southborough, Massachusetts).
This is a wonderful anthology celebrating the last decade and a half of recordings by the New Orleans singer Johnny Adams. Though his first recordings were already 25 years behind him at the time, Adams enjoyed a career resurgence when he signed with Rounder in the '80s. He explored his remarkable gifts fully over the series of recordings he made for the label, devoting a couple of entire releases to specific writers such as Doc Pomus and Percy Mayfield.
His bluesy depth resonates whether he's performing New Orleans funk, soulful balladry, jazzy strutting, or even making forays into the world of pop, such as 1986's AFTER DARK, and he is at home with a wide variety of composers. His version of George and Ira Gershwin's "But Not for Me" is a showstopper and should be heard by any fan of Tony Bennett's. The set includes one previously unissued number, the Pomus/Rebennack original "Happy Hard Times." This collection is a wonderful introduction to a great singer.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.0
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Johnny Adams

Product Info

  • UPC: 011661158122
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)