Jitendra Abhisheki Hymns from the Vedas and Upanishads, Vedic Chants

Rating 3.7
6 ratings
List Price: $16.99
Your Price: $15.29
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Item:  DLS 105
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Related products:

Top ranking titles in the World Music genre:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Delos Records


  • Buy for $0.991.Salutations to the Gurus
  • Buy for $0.992.Peace Chants
  • Buy for $0.993.Peace Chants
  • Buy for $0.994.Gayatri Mantra
  • Buy for $0.995.Bhagavad Gita Selections
  • Buy for $0.996.Bhagavad Gita Selections
  • Buy for $0.997.Jayadeva's Song to Krishna
  • Buy for $0.998.Radha's Pangs For Krishna
  • 9.Hymn on the Greatness of Shiva
  • Buy for $0.9910.Bhagavad Gita Verses, Chapter 2
  • Buy for $0.9911.Bhagavad Gita Verses, Chapter 2
  • Buy for $0.9912.O Mind Go to Kasi - (Sung In Hindi)

Product Description:

Personnel: Jitendra Abhisheki (vocals); Harihar Rao (tabla).
Illustrator: Jan Steward.
Here is music from the depths of the soul. Born into a family of priests in Goa, India, Abhisheki's father was the "pujari" (chief priest) at the Mangeshi temple, a position now held by Abhisheki's brother. The contrast of the devotional songs and the traditional Vedic rhythmic punctuations with the Upanishad poetry and romantic emotion in more fluid raga-style singing, show Abhisheki to be a singer of great gifts and psychological understanding. The combined rhythmic delivery, with high emotion in the mixed ragas of the "Hymn on the Greatness of Shiva" is direct and masterful. The combination of beauty and philosophy in the "Peace Chants" is also remarkable ("Om. That is full, this is full, From the full the full has been taken, Having taken the full from the full, the full alone remains. Om. Peace, peace, peace"). ~ "Blue" Gene Tyranny
RadioIO Offer

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.7
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info:

  • UPC: 013491010526
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item