Bob Wills Take Me Back to Tulsa [Proper Box] (4-CD Box Set)

Take Me Back to Tulsa [Proper Box] (4-CD Box Set)
21 ratings
Only 7 copies left
Price: $22.49
List Price: $24.99
You Save: $2.50 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  XJAA
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: November 26, 2001
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Proper Box Uk

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Nancy Jane
  • 2.Sunbonnet Sue
  • 3.Osage Stomp
  • 4.Get With It
  • 5.Spanish Two Step
  • 6.Maiden's Prayer
  • 7.I Ain't Got Nobody
  • 8.Who Walks in When I Walk Out
  • 9.Oklahoma Rag
  • 10.Smith's Reel
  • 11.Weary of the Same Ol' Stuff
  • 12.No Matter How She Done It
  • 13.Bluin' the Blues
  • 14.Red Hot Gal of Mine
  • 15.Steel Guitar Rag
  • 16.What's the Matter With the Mill?
  • 17.Sugar Blues
  • 18.Basin Street Blues
  • 19.Too Busy
  • 20.Fan It
  • 21.There's No Disappointment in Heaven
  • 22.Swing Blues No. 1
  • 23.Playboy Stomp
  • 24.T for Texas (Blue Yodel No. 1)
  • 25.Never No More Hard Times Blues
  • 26.Oozlin' Daddy Blues

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Black Rider
  • 2.Pray for the Lights to Go Out
  • 3.San Antonio Rose
  • 4.Carolina in the Morning
  • 5.Silver Bells (That Ring in the Night)
  • 6.Beaumont Rag
  • 7.Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star
  • 8.Whoa Baby
  • 9.I Wonder If You Feel the Way I Do
  • 10.My Window Faces the South
  • 11.That's What I Like About the South
  • 12.The Waltz You Saved for Me
  • 13.Prosperity Special
  • 14.Don't Let the Deal Go Down
  • 15.You're Okay
  • 16.Lone Star Rag
  • 17.Corrine, Corrina
  • 18.Bob Wills Special
  • 19.Time Changes Everything
  • 20.Big Beaver
  • 21.New San Antonio Rose
  • 22.I Knew the Moment I Lost You
  • 23.Twin Guitar Special
  • 24.Take Me Back to Tulsa
  • 25.Takin' It Home
  • 26.Please Don't Leave Me
  • 27.Cherokee Maiden
  • 28.Dusty Skies
  • 29.My Life's Been a Pleasure

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.We Might as Well Forget It
  • 2.Home in San Antone
  • 3.Liberty
  • 4.Miss Molly
  • 5.You're from Texas
  • 6.Goodbye Liza Jane
  • 7.My Confession
  • 8.Texas Playboy Rag
  • 9.Roly Poly
  • 10.Stay a Little Longer
  • 11.Just a Plain Old Country Boy
  • 12.New Spanish Two-Step
  • 13.I'm Feelin' Bad
  • 14.Cotton Eyed Joe
  • 15.Brain Cloudy Blues
  • 16.Bob Wills Boogie
  • 17.Fat Boy Rag
  • 18.A Good Man Is Hard to Find
  • 19.A Little Bit of Boogie
  • 20.Along the Navajo Trail
  • 21.Baby Won't You Please Come Home
  • 22.Betcha My Heart
  • 23.Chinatown
  • 24.Dinah
  • 25.Frankie Jean
  • 26.Hawaiian War Chant

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.I'm a Ding Dong Daddy
  • 2.Milk Cow Blues
  • 3.My Gal Sal
  • 4.Red River Valley
  • 5.Sugar Moon
  • 6.Sweet Jennie Lee
  • 7.The Girl I Left Behind Me
  • 8.At the Woodchopper's Ball
  • 9.Blues for Dixie
  • 10.Bubbles in My Beer
  • 11.Can't Get Enough of Texas
  • 12.Cotton Patch Blues
  • 13.Cowboy Stomp
  • 14.Crazy Rhythm
  • 15.Deep Water
  • 16.Don't Be Ashamed of Your Age
  • 17.Keeper of My Heart
  • 18.Little Cowboy Lament
  • 19.Thorn in My Heart
  • 20.Ida Red Likes to Boogie
  • 21.Boot Heel Drag
  • 22.Faded Love
  • 23.I Laugh When I Think How I Cried Over You
  • 24.I'll Be Lucky Someday
  • 25.I Didn't Realise
  • 26.Rock-A-Bye Baby Blues
  • 27.Jolie Blon Likes the Boogie
  • 28.The End of the Line

Product Description:

Recorded between 1932 and 1950.
Contains 109 tracks.
Personnel: Bob Wills (vocals, fiddle); Harley Huggins (vocals, guitar); Billy Bowman (vocals, steel guitar); Myrl "Rusty" McDonald (vocals, tenor banjo); Johnny Gimble, Tiny Moore (vocals, electric mandolin, fiddle); Danny Alguire (vocals, trumpet); Billy Jack Wills (vocals, drums); Dean McKinney, Evelyn McKinney, Milton Brown, Tommy Duncan (vocals); Herman Arnspiger, Eldon Shamblin, Durwood Brown (guitar); Lester Barnard, Jr., Doyle Salathiel, Cameron Hill, Jimmy Wyble (electric guitar); Roy Honeycutt, Herb Remington, Leon McAuliffe, Les Anderson, Noel Boggs (steel guitar); Sleepy Johnson (tenor guitar); Bill Mounce, Jimmie Widener, Johnnie Lee Wills, Ocie Stockard (banjo); Luke Wills (tenor banjo); Louis Tierney (fiddle, saxophone); Art Haines (fiddle, trombone); Bob White , Joe Holley, Keith Coleman, Jesse Ashlock, Cecil Brower (fiddle); Charles Laughton (clarinet, saxophone, trumpet); Ray DeGeer, Don Harlan, George Balay, Wayne Johnson (clarinet, saxophone); Woodie Wood (clarinet, alto saxophone); Robert McNally, Joe Ferguson , Tiny Mott (saxophone); Benny Strickler , Everett Stover, Jamie MacIntosh, Tubby Lewis, Alex Brashear (trumpet); Neil Duer (trombone); Millard Kelso, Doc Lewis, Morris Billington, Al Stricklin (piano); Gene Tomlins, William E. Dacus, Monte Mountjoy, Johnny Edwards , Bob Fitzgerald, Tommy Perkins, Johnny Cuviello (drums).
Liner Note Author: Adam Komorowski.
Recording information: Chicago, IL (02/09/1932-04/27/1950); Dallas, TX (02/09/1932-04/27/1950); Hollywood, CA (02/09/1932-04/27/1950); Jefferson Hotel, Fort Worth, TX (02/09/1932-04/27/1950); Radio Recorders, Hollywood, CA (02/09/1932-04/27/1950); Saginaw, TX (02/09/1932-04/27/1950); Sound Recorders, San Francisco, CA (02/09/1932-04/27/1950); Trianon Ballroom, Oklahoma City, OK (02/09/1932-04/27/1950); Universal Studio, San Francisco, CA (02/09/1932-04/27/1950).
Everyone who's ever explored Western swing knows that Bob Wills' music was revolutionary, but any fan who hasn't listened to the music on disc one of this collection probably doesn't realize how revolutionary it really was. Most modern retrospectives concentrate on music that Wills made after his signature sound was firmly established, but the earliest (and seldom heard) sides here are fascinating in that they reveal the specific foundations for Wills' great synthesis. Old-timey fiddle tunes, primitive jazz, blues, gospel -- the breadth of his repertoire was staggering, and his bands not only played those myriad disparate genres, but mastered them utterly. There are dozens of seldom-heard gems throughout this four-disc set, but none more exciting than those found early on: "Get With It," with Leon McAuliffe's jazzy, astonishingly dissonant guitar solo that predates Scotty Moore's rockabilly licks by nearly 20 years, Tommy Duncan's brilliant, jazzy yodeling on "I Ain't Got Nobody," the beautiful gospel ballad "There's No Disappointment in Heaven," "Basin Street Blues," and on and on. The accompanying 50-page booklet contains a nice historical essay and rare photographs, but may be problematic to researchers in that its session notes are sometimes inaccurate. In terms of the music, however, nothing but good words can be said. Many of these songs have probably never been heard by CD-era fans, being previously available only on Bear Family's massive box set, and every single one of Wills' hits are included, as well as many of the classic Tiffany Transcriptions. And all for under $25. ~ Jim Smith

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 21 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Bob Wills

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 60,342
  • UPC: 604988993226
  • Shipping Weight: 0.51/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

Top ranking titles in the Country & Bluegrass genre:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)