Xavier Cugat Live From the Waldorf-Astoria 1950-1954

Rating 3.0
1 rating
List Price: $18.98
Your Price: $17.08
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Item:  HEQ 161
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: September 25, 2000
  • Label: Harlequin Records


  • 1.Penguin Song
  • 2.Play Fiddle Play
  • 3.Que Jelenque!
  • 4.Mambo Rhapsody
  • 5.Night Must Fall / Nightingale
  • 6.Mambo Jambo
  • 7.One at a Time
  • 8.Llego, Llego
  • 9.My Shawl
  • 10.Siboney / La Paloma
  • 11.Miami Beach Rumba
  • 12.Francesca
  • 13.Chivirico
  • 14.Carnival in Uruguay
  • 15.Me lo Dijo Adela (Sweet and Gentle)
  • 16.Cherry Pink and Apple Blossom White
  • 17.Cha-Cha-Cha With Me
  • 18.Maracaibo
  • 19.Whatever Lola Wants Lola Gets
  • 20.Park Avenue Mambo
  • 21.Dengozo

Product Description:

Personnel: Xavier Cugat; Abbe Lane, Otto Bolivar (vocals).
Includes liner notes by Bruce Bastin.
Digitally remastered by Charlie Crump.
Harlequin Records presents Xavier Cugat and his orchestra, the way they sounded live and in person at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel during the years 1950-1954. This is Latin big band dance music -- heavy on the rhumbas and mambos -- with a strong jazz influence. Indeed during their best passages Cugie's crew could easily be mistaken for Machito & His Afro-Cuban Salseros. Vocalists Otto Bolivar and Abbe Lane convey the lyrics in tidy Spanish and accessible English, ensuring acceptance from the audibly wined and dined Truman-Eisenhower era audience. Among many dozens of Cugat compilations, this one rates somewhere amidst the uppers. ~ arwulf arwulf

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Xavier Cugat

Product Info:

  • UPC: 008637216122
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item