Gettin' Funky: The Birth of New Orleans R&B (4-CD)
by Various Artists

Gettin' Funky: The Birth of New Orleans R&B (4-CD)
3 ratings
Price: $23.38
List Price: $26.99
You Save: $3.61 (13% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  XJ8X
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: December 11, 2001
  • Label: Proper Box Uk

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Shake Dance
  • 2.Junker's Blues
  • 3.Big Time Mama
  • 4.Byrd's Blues
  • 5.Her Mind Is Gone
  • 6.Bald Head
  • 7.Hey Now Baby
  • 8.Oh Well
  • 9.Hadacol Bounce
  • 10.Longhair Stomp
  • 11.Been Fooling Around
  • 12.Between the Night and Day (In the Wee Wee Hours)
  • 13.Hey Now Baby
  • 14.Mardi Gras in New Orleans
  • 15.She Walks Right In
  • 16.Hey Little Girl
  • 17.Willie Mae
  • 18.Walk Your Blues Away
  • 19.Professor Longhair Blues
  • 20.Boogie Woogie
  • 21.Longhair's Blues-Rhumba
  • 22.Stack-a-Lee Pts 1 & 2
  • 23.Shake Baby Shake
  • 24.Ballin' With Archie
  • 25.My Gal
  • 26.Little Miss Muffet
  • 27.Crescent City Bounce
  • 28.She's Scattered Everywhere

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Mr. Fool
  • 2.Country Boy
  • 3.Gert Town Blues
  • 4.Basin Street Breakdown
  • 5.Pyramid
  • 6.Messy Bessie
  • 7.Nickel Wine
  • 8.Ain't Gonna Do It (Rest of My Life)
  • 9.Good Jax Boogie
  • 10.Now That You're Gone
  • 11.Backtrackin'
  • 12.Baby, What's New?
  • 13.My Rough and Ready Man
  • 14.You Shouldn't
  • 15.Confused
  • 16.You Oughta Know
  • 17.Fishtails
  • 18.I'll Never Be Free
  • 19.I Ain't Gonna Let You In
  • 20.Lowdown
  • 21.Slide Me Down
  • 22.Growing Old
  • 23.If You Ever Loved a Woman
  • 24.Dirty People
  • 25.Where Were You?
  • 26.My Baby Was Right

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Good Rockin' Tonight
  • 2.Lolly Pop Mama
  • 3.Special Lesson No.1
  • 4.Woman's a Wonderful Thing
  • 5.Roy Brown's Boogie
  • 6.Miss Fanny Brown
  • 7.Long About Midnight
  • 8.Rainy Weather Blues
  • 9.Rockin' at Midnight
  • 10.Please Don't Go
  • 11.Ridin' High
  • 12.Rock-a-Bye Baby
  • 13.Big Town, (The Girls in)
  • 14.Detroit City Blues
  • 15.The Fat Man
  • 16.Hide Away Blues
  • 17.She's My Baby
  • 18.Brand New Baby
  • 19.Little Bee
  • 20.Boogie Woogie Baby
  • 21.Hey, La Bas Boogie
  • 22.Korea Blues
  • 23.Every Night About This Time
  • 24.Careless Love
  • 25.Hey! Fat Man
  • 26.For You My Love
  • 27.I'll Get Along Somehow, Pts 1&2
  • 28.Lost My Baby

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Hip Shakin' Mama
  • 2.Chubby's Confession
  • 3.Back Bitin' Woman
  • 4.Bedroom Blues
  • 5.Close to Train Time
  • 6.New Orleans Lover Man
  • 7.Miss Lollipop's Confession
  • 8.Baby Get Wise
  • 9.Streetwalkin' Daddy
  • 10.A Job For a Jockey
  • 11.Boogie's the Thing
  • 12.She Won't Leave No More
  • 13.Mercury Boogie
  • 14.Blazer Boy Blues
  • 15.New Orleans Women Blues
  • 16.Jump and Shout
  • 17.I Never Missed My Baby
  • 18.Mellow Woman Blues
  • 19.Shrewsbury Blues
  • 20.Don't Marry Too Soon
  • 21.3x7=21
  • 22.I'll Get By
  • 23.I Broke My Mother's Rule
  • 24.I Cried
  • 25.Just to Be Home With You

Product Description:

Full title: Gettin' Funky: The Birth Of New Orleans R&B.
Includes a 56 page booklet.
Performers include: Champion Jack Dupree, Professor Longhair, Archibald, Dave Bartholomew, Paul Gayten, Smiley Lewis, Roy Brown, Fats Domino.
Contains 107 tracks.
New Orleans musicians have long mixed a diverse laundry list of styles from blues, Latin, pop, swing, jazz, stride piano, mainstream R&B and even a little country into the immediately recognizable gumbo known as New Orleans R&B. This four-disc box from Proper (each of the four discs in Gettin' Funky: The Birth of New Orleans R&B, are available separately as Piano Power, The Pioneers, The Hit Makers and Hip Shakin' Mamas, Crooners and Shouters, are also available as standalone albums) provides 107 tracks from the early pioneers of this feisty, energetic and joyous music, with several selections from, among others, Fats Domino, Professor Longhair, Champion Jack Dupree, Dave Bartholomew, Paul Gayten and Roy Brown. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 604988992823
  • Shipping Weight: 0.52/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)