Sister Rosetta Tharpe Original Soul Sister (4-CD) [Import]

Original Soul Sister (4-CD) [Import]
8 ratings
SALE: $22.49
List Price: $24.99
You Save: $2.50 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  XJ7G
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2010
  • Label: Proper Box Uk

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Rock Me
  • 2.That's All
  • 3.My Man And I
  • 4.The Lonesome Road
  • 5.Bring Back Those Happy Days
  • 6.This Train
  • 7.I Looked Down The Lane (And I Wondered)
  • 8.God Don't Like It
  • 9.Beams Of Heaven
  • 10.Saviour Don't Pass Me By
  • 11.The End Of My Journey
  • 12.Sit Down
  • 13.There Is Something Within Me
  • 14.Stand By Me
  • 15.Trouble In Mind
  • 16.Rock Daniel
  • 17.Four Or Five Times
  • 18.Shout, Sister, Shout
  • 19.The Lonesome Road
  • 20.Shout, Sister, Shout

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Rock Me
  • 2.That's All
  • 3.Just A Closer Walk With Thee
  • 4.Precious Lord, Hold My Hand
  • 5.I'm In His Care
  • 6.Nobody's Fault But Mine
  • 7.I Want A Tall Skinny Papa
  • 8.What He Done For Me
  • 9.I Want Jesus To Walk Around My Bedside
  • 10.All Over This World
  • 11.Pure Religion
  • 12.Rock Me
  • 13.That's All
  • 14.Trouble In Mind
  • 15.Rock Daniel
  • 16.Down By The Riverside
  • 17.I Want A Tall Skinny Papa
  • 18.This Train
  • 19.Sin Is To Blame
  • 20.That's All

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Let That Liar Alone
  • 2.The Devil Has Thrown Him Down
  • 3.Sleep On Darling Mother
  • 4.God Don't Like It
  • 5.I Want To Live So God Can Use Me
  • 6.Rock Me
  • 7.What's The News
  • 8.Nobody Knows, Nobody Cares
  • 9.Jesus Taught Me How To Pray
  • 10.Forgive Me Lord And Try Me One More Time
  • 11.What Is The Soul Of Man?
  • 12.Singing In My Soul
  • 13.I Claim Jesus First
  • 14.Strange Things Happening Every Day
  • 15.Two Little Fishes And Five Loaves Of Bread
  • 16.Don't Take Everybody To Be Your Friend
  • 17.How Far From God
  • 18.When I Move To The Sky
  • 19.Jesus Is Here To Stay
  • 20.Jonah

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.God's Mighty Hand
  • 2.The Lord Followed Me
  • 3.This Train
  • 4.Oh, When I Come To The End Of My Journey
  • 5.Didn't It Rain
  • 6.Stretch Out
  • 7.This Train
  • 8.When I Come To The End Of My Journey
  • 9.Beams Of Heaven
  • 10.Up Above My Head I Hear Music In The Air
  • 11.My Journey To The Sky
  • 12.Teach Me To Be Right
  • 13.I Heard My Mother Call My Name
  • 14.Heaven Is Not My Home
  • 15.The Natural Facts
  • 16.Ain't No Grave Hold My Body Down
  • 17.Lay Down Your Soul
  • 18.Precious Memories
  • 19.Family Prayer
  • 20.Down By The Riverside
  • 21.Were You There When They Crucified My Lord?

Product Description:

Contains 81 Tracks.
Personnel: Sister Rosetta Tharpe (vocals, guitar); Marie Knight (vocals); Sammy Price (guitar, piano); Grady Martin, Trevor Bacon, Bill Johnson's Louisiana Jug Band (guitar); Buster Bailey (clarinet, tenor saxophone); Billy Bowen, Jerome Pasquall, George James, Ted Barnett, Gene Mikell, Ben Whitted, Louis Jordan, Tab Smith, Jimmy Mitchell (alto saxophone); Mike Hadley, Julian Dash, Paul Bascomb, Sam "The Man" Taylor , Stafford Simon (tenor saxophone); Ernest Purce, Haywood Henry (baritone saxophone); Clarence Wheeler, Dud Bascomb, Erskine Hawkins, Frank Humphries, Clarence Brereton, Freddy Webster, Demas Dean, Tommy Lindsay, Edna Williams, Archie Johnson, Joe Guy, Nelson Bryant, Joe Jordan, Eddie Roane, Wendell Culley (trumpet); George Stevenson , Herb Flemming, Joe Britton, David James, Don Cole, Edward Morant, Big Chief Russell Moore, Norman Greene, Eli Robinson, Floyd Brady, Harry White , Chester Burrill, Ed Sims, Gene Simon, Sandy Williams (trombone); Clyde Hart, Gene Rodgers, Ray Tunia, Howard Biggs, Arnold Thomas, Bill Doggett (piano); James Roots (organ); Wilbert Kirk, Rossiere "Shadow" Wilson, Herbert Cowans, Harold "Doc" West, Ed Bourne, Kelly Martin, Kenny Clarke, Panama Francis, Wallace Bishop (drums).
Liner Note Author: Joop Visser.
Recording information: Culver City, CA (10/31/1938-12/12/1949); Hollywood, CA (10/31/1938-12/12/1949); Los Angeles, CA (10/31/1938-12/12/1949); New York, NY (10/31/1938-12/12/1949).
Photographer: Charles Peterson .
Unknown Contributor Role: Ernie "Bubbles" Whitman.
Arrangers: Marie Knight ; Sister Rosetta Tharpe.
This four-disc box set from Proper assembles all four original volumes they issued separately with a detailed booklet of notes. Those titles -- This Train, Rock Me, Singing in My Soul, and Shout Sister Shout -- document Sister Rosetta Tharpe's Decca recordings from the late '30s through WWII. Assembled like this, they provide a nearly exhaustive portrait of Tharpe's guitar artistry, her songwriting, and her amazingly large voice. Essential. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 8 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Sister Rosetta Tharpe

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 39,961
  • UPC: 805520020510
  • Shipping Weight: 0.33/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)