Louis Jordan Jivin' with Jordan [Proper Box] (4-CD Box Set)

Jivin' with Jordan [Proper Box] (4-CD Box Set)
Price: $23.38
List Price: $30.98
You Save: $7.60 (25% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  F44W
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: August 27, 2002
  • Label: Proper Box Uk

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Honey In The Bee Ball
  • 2.Keep-A-Knockin' (But You Can't Come In)
  • 3.Sam Jones Done Snagged His Britches On
  • 4.Doug The Jitterbug
  • 5.At The Swing Cats Ball
  • 6.Honeysuckle Rose
  • 7.But I'll Be Back
  • 8.You're My Meat
  • 9.June Tenth Jamboree
  • 10.You Run Your Mouth, I'll Run My Business
  • 11.Somebody Done Hoodooed The Hoodoo Man
  • 12.Oh Boy, I'm In The Groove
  • 13.Never Let Your Left Hand Know What Your Right Hand's Doin'
  • 14.Chicken Ain't Nothin' But A Bird
  • 15.Pinetop's Boogie Woogie
  • 16.Saint Vitus Dance
  • 17.Saxa-Woogie
  • 18.Boogie Woogie Came To Town
  • 19.How 'Bout That?
  • 20.Knock Me A Kiss
  • 21.I'm Gonna Move to the Outskirts of Town
  • 22.What's The Use Of Gettin' Sober
  • 23.Chicks I Pick Are Slender, Tender And Tall
  • 24.I'm Gonna Leave You On The Outskirts Of Town
  • 25.That'll Just About Knock Me Out
  • 26.Five Guys Named Moe
  • 27.Ration Blues

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Is You Is You Ain't My Baby?
  • 2.Deacon Jones
  • 3.I Like 'Em Fat Like That
  • 4.Mop-Mop
  • 5.G.I. Jive
  • 6.You Can't Get That No More
  • 7.My Baby Said Yes (Yip, Yip De Hootie)
  • 8.Buzz Me
  • 9.Caldonia Boogie
  • 10.Somebody Done Changed The Lock On My Door
  • 11.How Long Must I Wait For You?
  • 12.Salt Pork, West Virginia
  • 13.Don't Worry 'Bout That Mule
  • 14.Stone Cold Dead In The Market
  • 15.Reconversion Blues
  • 16.Beware
  • 17.Don't Let The Sun Catch You Cryin'
  • 18.Choo Choo Ch' Boogie
  • 19.Ain't That Just Like A Woman
  • 20.That Chick's Too Young To Fry
  • 21.No Sale
  • 22.Ain't Nobody Here But Us Chickens
  • 23.Let The Good Time Rock
  • 24.All For The Love Of Lil
  • 25.Texas And Pacific
  • 26.Jack, You're Dead

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Reet, Petite, And Gone
  • 2.Sure Had A Wonderful Time
  • 3.I Know What You're Puttin' Down
  • 4.Open The Door Richard
  • 5.Boogie Woogie Blue Plate
  • 6.Barnyard Boogie
  • 7.Every Man To His Own Profession
  • 8.Early In The Morning
  • 9.Run Joe
  • 10.Look Out
  • 11.Have You Got The Gumption?
  • 12.We Can't Agree
  • 13.Chicky-Mo, Craney-Crow
  • 14.Roamin' Blues
  • 15.You're Much Too Fat (And That's That)
  • 16.Pettin' And Pokin'
  • 17.You're On The Right Track, Baby
  • 18.Don't Burn the Candle At Both Ends
  • 19.Daddy-O
  • 20.You Broke Your Promise
  • 21.Cole Slaw
  • 22.Beans And Corn Bread
  • 23.Onions
  • 24.Baby's Gonna Go, Bye Bye
  • 25.Psycho-Loco

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Baby It's Cold Outside
  • 2.School Days
  • 3.Hungry Man
  • 4.Saturday Night Fish Fry Pts. 1-2
  • 5.I Want A Roof Over My Head
  • 6.Show Me How (You Milk The Cow)
  • 7.Blue Light Boogie
  • 8.Tamburitza Boogie Pts. 1-2
  • 9.Chartreuse, (You Dyed Your Hair)
  • 10.Lemonade
  • 11.It's A Great, Great Pleasure
  • 12.Teardrops In My Eyes
  • 13.Weak Minded Blues
  • 14.Is My Pop In There?
  • 15.I Can't Give You Anything But Love
  • 16.If You're So Smart, How Come You Ain't Rich
  • 17.Louisville Lodge Meeting
  • 18.How Blue You Can Get?
  • 19.Please Don't Leave Me
  • 20.Bone Dry
  • 21.Three Handed Woman
  • 22.Fat Sam From Birmingham
  • 23.Cock-A-Doodle-Doo
  • 24.Lay Something On The Bar (Besides Your Elbow)

Product Description:

Contains 102 tracks.
This whopping 81-cut, four-disc box collects the vast majority of master takes Louis Jordan & His Tympani Five recorded for Decca in the 1940s. While it's true that Germany's Bear Family label did a better job by putting together a seven-disc box with alternates and a number of unreleased masters along with an LP of his duets with Ella Fitzgerald, this collection cannot be faulted, especially for the price especially since it also represents Jordan's music from the late '30s to the early '50s. One can hear the grand lyric phrasing and rhythmic influence Jordan had on Chuck Berry, Little Richard, Johnny Otis, and Otis Blackwell. From "Five Guys Named Moe," "That Chick's Too Young to Fry," and "Somebody Done Changed the Lock on My Door" to "If You're So Smart How Come You Ain't Rich," "Fast Sam from Birmingham," "Baby It's Cold Outside" (with Ella), and many many more, there isn't a weak take on this set. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Louis Jordan

Product Info

  • UPC: 805520020473
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)