Illinois Jacquet The Illinois Jacquet Story (4-CD Box Set)

The Illinois Jacquet Story (4-CD Box Set)
19% OFF
List Price: $30.98
Your Price: $25.18
You Save: $5.80 (19% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible

Save for Later
Format: CD  (4 Discs)
Item:  XJ5W
on most orders of $50
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: November 19, 2002
  • Label: Proper Box Uk

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Lester Leaps In
  • 2.Blues
  • 3.Body and Soul
  • 4.I've Found a New Baby
  • 5.Flying Home, Pt. 1
  • 6.Flying Home, Pt. 2
  • 7.Uptown Boogie
  • 8.Throw It Out of You Mind Baby
  • 9.Jacquet Mood
  • 10.Wondering and Thinking of You
  • 11.Memories of You
  • 12.Bottom's Up
  • 13.Merle's Mood

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.What's This
  • 2.I Don't Stand a Ghost of a Chance With You
  • 3.Ladies Lullaby
  • 4.Illinois Stomp
  • 5.Don't Blame Me
  • 6.Jumpin' Jacquet
  • 7.Blue Mood
  • 8.Jacquet in the Box
  • 9.Savoy Blip (AKA Jacquet and No Vest)
  • 10.Doggin' With Doggett
  • 11.Minor Romp (AKA Jacquet and Coat)
  • 12.Berry's Blues (A.K.A. Illinois' Blues)
  • 13.Jumpin' at Apollo
  • 14.Jacquet Bounce
  • 15.She's Funny That Way
  • 16.12 Minutes to Go
  • 17.For Europeans Only
  • 18.Big Dog
  • 19.You Left Me All Alone
  • 20.Jivin' With Jack the Bellboy
  • 21.Blow, Illinois, Blow
  • 22.Illinois Blows the Blues
  • 23.South Street Special

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Diggin' the Count
  • 2.Robbins' Nest
  • 3.Music Hall Beat
  • 4.Jumpin' at the Woodside
  • 5.Goofin' Off
  • 6.Riffin' With Jacquet
  • 7.Sahara Heat
  • 8.It's Wild
  • 9.Destination Moon
  • 10.For Truly
  • 11.I Surrender, Dear
  • 12.Jet Propulsion
  • 13.King Jacquet
  • 14.Try Me One More Time
  • 15.Embryo
  • 16.Riffin' at 24th Street
  • 17.Mutton Leg
  • 18.Symphony in Sid
  • 19.Jacquet for Jack the Bellboy
  • 20.Big Foot
  • 21.Black Velvet

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.B-Yot
  • 2.Adam's Alley
  • 3.Blue Satin
  • 4.Stay Away
  • 5.My Old Gal
  • 6.Slow Down Baby
  • 7.Hot Rod
  • 8.You Gotta Change
  • 9.Hippity Hop
  • 10.Later for the Happenin'
  • 11.Moe
  • 12.On the Sunny Side of the Street
  • 13.Speedliner
  • 14.Pastel
  • 15.All of Me
  • 16.Just A-Sittin' and A-Rockin'
  • 17.Mean to Me
  • 18.One Nighter Boogie
  • 19.Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams (And Dream Your Troubles Away)
  • 20.Cotton Tail
  • 21.Weary Blues
  • 22.Groovin'

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Illinois Jacquet (tenor saxophone); Sir Charles Thompson (piano); Bill Doggett (keyboards); Charles Mingus (bass); Art Blakey, Shadow Wilson (drums); Johnny Otis.
Contains 79 tracks.
Issued in 2002 by the Proper label, this four-disc box set presents a remarkably comprehensive collection of 1940s and '50s recordings by jazz saxophone giant Illinois Jacquet. Known for his raucous approach to the tenor sax, Jacquet made a name for himself with his innovative solo on bandleader/vibes-player Lionel Hampton's "Flying Home" (here presented in two parts), where he employed a low "honking" style. While he became renowned for such sax stunts, Jacquet was also a top-notch straight-ahead performer, as revealed on catchy jump-blues tunes such as "Illinois Stomp" and "Riffin' with Jacquet." For those overwhelmed by the sheer number of tracks on this anthology, Verve's FLYING HOME compilation provides a less daunting overview of Jacquet's '50s material.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Illinois Jacquet

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 101,488
  • UPC: 805520020497
  • Shipping Weight: 0.44/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)