Wynonie Harris Rockin The Blues (4-CD)

Rockin The Blues (4-CD)
8 ratings
Price: $25.18
List Price: $27.98
You Save: $2.80 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  XJ5A
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2010
  • Label: Proper Box Uk

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 6/01, p.128
4 stars out of 5 - "...Harris lived it like he sang it: partying, drinking, womanizing and simulating masturbation onstage in an era when obscene gestures frequently led to jail sentences....Risque but right on."


  • 1.Hurry Hurry - (studio)
  • 2.Who Threw The Whiskey In The Well - (studio)
  • 3.Around The Clock Pt.1 - (studio)
  • 4.Around The Clock Pt.2 - (studio)
  • 5.Cock-A-Doodle-Doo - (studio)
  • 6.Yonder Goes My Baby - (studio)
  • 7.Wynonie's Blues - (studio)
  • 8.Here Comes The Blues - (studio)
  • 9.I Gotta Lyin Woman (alternate take) - (studio)
  • 10.Straighten Him Out - (studio)
  • 11.Young Man's Blues - (studio)
  • 12.Baby Look At You - (studio)
  • 13.She's Gone With The Wind - (studio)
  • 14.Somebody Changed The Lock On My Door - (studio)
  • 15.That's The Stuff You Gotta Watch - (studio)
  • 16.I Gotta Lyin Woman - (studio)
  • 17.Rebecca's Blues - (studio)
  • 18.Everybody's Boogie - (studio)
  • 19.Time To Change Your Town - (studio)
  • 20.Everybody's Boogie (alternate take) - (studio)
  • 21.Big City Blues - (studio)
  • 22.Playful Baby - (studio)
  • 23.Take Me Out Of The Rain - (studio)
  • 24.Papa Tree Top - (studio)
  • 25.Young And Wild - (studio)
  • 26.Good Morning Corinne - (studio)
  • 27.Hey Ba-Ba-Re-Bop Pt.1 - (studio)
  • 28.Hey Ba-Ba-Re-Bop Pt.2 - (studio)
  • 29.In The Evenin Blues - (studio)
  • 30.Dig This Boogie - (studio)
  • 31.Lightnin Struck The Poor House - (studio)
  • 32.My Baby's Barrel House - (studio)
  • 33.Drinkin By Myself - (studio)
  • 34.Mr Blues Jumped The Rabbit - (studio)
  • 35.Rugged Road - (studio)
  • 36.Come Back Baby - (studio)
  • 37.Whiskey & Jelly-Roll Blues - (studio)
  • 38.You Got To Get Yourself A Job Girl - (studio)
  • 39.Hard Ridin Mama - (studio)
  • 40.Ghost Of A Chance - (studio)
  • 41.She Just Wont' Sell No More - (studio)
  • 42.Battle Of The Blues Pt.1 - (studio)
  • 43.Battle Of The Blues Pt.2 - (studio)
  • 44.Goin Home - (studio)
  • 45.Blues - (studio)
  • 46.Love Is Like Rain - (studio)
  • 47.Rose Get Your Clothes - (studio)
  • 48.Wynonie's Boogie - (studio)
  • 49.Your Money Don't Mean A Thing - (studio)
  • 50.Good Morning Mr Blues - (studio)
  • 51.Blow Your Brains Out - (studio)
  • 52.Blowin To California - (studio)
  • 53.Crazy Love - (studio)
  • 54.From Bad To Good Blues - (studio)
  • 55.Bite Again Bite Again - (studio)
  • 56.Good Rockin Tonight - (studio)
  • 57.Lollipop Mama - (studio)
  • 58.I Believe I'll Fall In Love - (studio)
  • 59.Grandma Plays The Numbers - (studio)
  • 60.I Want My Fanny Brown - (studio)
  • 61.Man Have I Got Troubles - (studio)
  • 62.I Feel That Old Age Coming On - (studio)
  • 63.Drinkin Wine Spo-Dee-O-Dee - (studio)
  • 64.All She Wants To Do Is Rock - (studio)
  • 65.I Can't Take It No More - (studio)
  • 66.Sittin On It All The Time - (studio)
  • 67.I Llike My Baby's Pudding - (studio)
  • 68.Triflin Woman - (studio)
  • 69.Baby Shame On You - (studio)
  • 70.Rock Mr Blues - (studio)
  • 71.Stormy Night Blues - (studio)
  • 72.Good Morning Judge - (studio)
  • 73.Be Mine My Love - (studio)
  • 74.Mr Blues Is Coming To Town - (studio)
  • 75.I Want To Love You Baby - (studio)
  • 76.Put It Back - (studio)
  • 77.Oh Babe - (studio)
  • 78.Teardrops From My Eyes - (studio)
  • 79.Love Untrue, A - (studio)
  • 80.Triflin Woman - (studio)
  • 81.Confessin The Blues - (studio)

Product Description:

Recorded between 1944 and 1950.
Contains 81 tracks.
This four-disc box set presents a comprehensive overview of jump-blues singer Wynonie Harris's 1944-'50 material.
This four-disc set from Proper could qualify as the best Wynonie Harris collection going. Sporting a 52-page booklet with detailed biographical and discography information -- not to mention the bargain price tag -- Rockin' the Blues contains all of Harris' sides from 1944-1950. Just some of the many highlights include his first recordings with the Lucky Millinder band ("Who Threw the Whiskey in the Well"), picaresque confessionals like "Drinking By Myself," and the unexpected pop side "Ghost of a Chance." Of course, such cornerstone moments as his duet with Big Joe Turner on "Battle of the Blues" and early King hits like "Good Rockin' Tonight" and "All She Wants to Do Is Rock" are here as well. Sure, it would have been nice if just one more disc was thrown in to cover early-'50s standouts like "Bloodshot Eyes," but with this much bounty already on hand, who's complaining? And adding to the consistently top-notch Harris vocals, there's plenty of fine instrumental highlights from the likes of Howard McGhee, Dexter Gordon, Teddy Edwards, Arnett Cobb, Joe Wilder, Hot Lips Page, Bill Doggett, Elmo Hope, Charles Mingus, and many other jump blues and jazz notables (Sun Ra even shows up for four cuts taped in Nashville). A stellar example of how all retrospectives should be presented. ~ Stephen Cook

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 8 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Wynonie Harris

Product Info

  • UPC: 604988992021
  • Shipping Weight: 0.51/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)