Lionel Hampton The Lionel Hampton Story (4-CD Box Set)

The Lionel Hampton Story (4-CD Box Set)
5 ratings
Price: $23.38
List Price: $30.98
You Save: $7.60 (25% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  XJ59
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: February 13, 2001
  • Label: Proper Box Uk

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Buzzin' Around With the Bee
  • 2.Stompology
  • 3.On the Sunny Side of the Street
  • 4.Piano Stomp (Shine)
  • 5.Everybody Loves My Baby
  • 6.Ring Them Bells
  • 7.Don't Be That Way
  • 8.I'm in the Mood For Swing
  • 9.Muskrat Ramble
  • 10.Down Home Jump
  • 11.It Don't Mean a Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)
  • 12.Sweethearts on Parade
  • 13.Shufflin' at the Hollywood
  • 14.Denison Swing
  • 15.Wizzin' the Wizz
  • 16.Memories of You
  • 17.When Lights Are Low
  • 18.One Sweet Letter From You
  • 19.Hot Mallets
  • 20.Early Session Hop
  • 21.Haven't Named It Yet
  • 22.Central Avenue Breakdown
  • 23.Jack the Bellboy
  • 24.Pig Foot Sonata
  • 25.Fiddle Dee Dee

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Royal Family
  • 2.Flying Home
  • 3.In the Bag
  • 4.Loose Wig
  • 5.Chop-Chop
  • 6.Flying Home, No. 2
  • 7.Hamp's Boogie Woogie
  • 8.The Mess Is Here
  • 9.Million Dollar Smile
  • 10.Overtime
  • 11.Tempo's Boogie
  • 12.Vibe Boogie
  • 13.Screamin' Boogie
  • 14.Red Cross
  • 15.Hamp's Blues
  • 16.Evil Gal Blues
  • 17.Doublin' With Dublin
  • 18.Ribs and Hot Sauce
  • 19.Blow Top Blues
  • 20.Two Finger Boogie
  • 21.Someday
  • 22.Beulah's Boogie
  • 23.Playboy

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Punch & Judy
  • 2.Slide, Hamp, Slide
  • 3.Hey, Ba-Ba-Re-Bop
  • 4.Pinetop's Boogie Woogie
  • 5.On the Sunny Side of the Street
  • 6.Rockin' in Rhythm, Pts. 1 & 2
  • 7.Gay Notes
  • 8.Hamp's Salty Blues
  • 9.Ridin' on the L & N
  • 10.Limehouse Blues
  • 11.Air Mail Special, Pts. 1 & 2
  • 12.Cobb's Idea
  • 13.Tempo's Birthday
  • 14.Adam Blew His Hat
  • 15.The Pencil Broke
  • 16.Empty Glass
  • 17.Hamp's Walkin' Boogie
  • 18.Dig Those Vibes
  • 19.Robbins in Your Hair
  • 20.Double Talk
  • 21.'S Wonderful
  • 22.Jack the Fox Boogie
  • 23.How High the Moon

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Stardust
  • 2.Hamp's Got a Duke
  • 3.3 Minutes on 52nd Street
  • 4.Goldwyn Stomp
  • 5.Red Top
  • 6.Giddy Up
  • 7.Hawk's Nest
  • 8.Mingus Fingers
  • 9.Muchacho Azul (Blue Boy)
  • 10.Midnight Sun
  • 11.Cherokee
  • 12.Chicken Shack Boogie
  • 13.Benson Boogie
  • 14.Hamp's Boogie Woogie, No. 2
  • 15.Beulah's Sister's Boogie
  • 16.Wee Albert
  • 17.Drinkin' Wine Spo-Dee-O-Dee
  • 18.Moonglow
  • 19.The Hucklebuck
  • 20.Lavender Coffin
  • 21.Rag Mop

Product Description:

Includes a 44 page booklet.
Performers include: Lionel Hampton (piano, vibraphone, percussion); Dinah Washington, Betty Carter, Bing Crosby (vocals); Johnny Hodges, Benny Carter, Earl Bostic, Marshall Royal (alto saxophone); Coleman Hawkins, Chu Berry, Ben Webster, Illinois Jacquet, Johnny Griffin (tenor saxophone); Cootie Williams, Dizzy Gillespie, Henry "Red" Allen, Snooky Young, Ernie Royal (trumpet); Rex Stewart (cornet); Benny Powell, J.C. Higgenbotham (trombone); Ray Perry (violin); Billy Kyle, Clyde Hart, Nat "King" Cole, Leonard Feather, Albert Ammons, Spencer Odom, Milt Buckner (piano); Charlie Christian, Wes Montgomery, Teddy Bunn, Billy Mackel (guitar); Milt Hinton, Charlie Mingus, Jesse Simpkins (bass); Cozy Cole, Jo Jones, Sid Catlett (drums).
Recorded between 1937 & 1949. Includes liner notes by Joop Visser.
Digitally remastered by Peter Rynston.
True to its title, THE LIONEL HAMPTON STORY box set covers the full career of one of jazz's most important pioneers. As a sideman, leader, drummer, pianist, vocalist, and vibraphonist, Hampton played with exuberant skill and enthusiasm throughout an astounding chunk of the 20th century (from the 1920s through the late 1990s), making music with everyone from Louis Armstrong and Benny Goodman to Art Tatum and Charles Mingus.
Hampton was the first to improvise extensively on the vibraphone, and it was on this instrument that he made his most significant contributions to the form. There is plenty of evidence of his dynamic mallet style and unerring sense of swing across the 92 recordings on this four-disc set, which features all of Hamp's best-known tunes (such as "Flying Home" and "Hamp's Boogie Woogie"), and a veritable who's who of jazz musicians on the personnel list. A lengthy deluxe booklet full of discography info and rare photographs makes the box a definitive summation of the work of this legendary figure.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Lionel Hampton

Product Info

  • UPC: 604988991222
  • Shipping Weight: 0.49/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)