Red Foley Hillbilly Fever (4-CD)

Hillbilly Fever (4-CD)
6 ratings
Price: $23.38
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  F44K
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: May 1, 2006
  • Label: Proper Box Uk

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Single Life Is Good Enough for Me
  • 2.Lone Cowboy
  • 3.Echoes of My Old Plantation Home
  • 4.I Don't Care Anymore
  • 5.Is It True
  • 6.Pals of the Saddle
  • 7.Be Honest With Me
  • 8.Someday Somewhere Sweetheart
  • 9.Hang Your Head in Shame
  • 10.Smoke on the Water
  • 11.There's a Blue Star Shining Bright (In a Window Tonight)
  • 12.At Mail Call Today
  • 13.I'll Never Let You Worry My Mind
  • 14.Shame Shame on You
  • 15.Harriet
  • 16.Have I Told You Lately That I Love You
  • 17.Old Shep
  • 18.My Poor Little Heart Is Broken
  • 19.Never Trust a Woman
  • 20.Smile Will Chase Away a Tear
  • 21.I'll Be True to You My Darling (Till the End of Time)
  • 22.Rye Whiskey
  • 23.That's How Much I Love You
  • 24.Freight Train Boogie
  • 25.New Jolie Blonde

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Tennessee Saturday Night
  • 2.Too Many Blues
  • 3.Blues in My Heart
  • 4.I'm Picking Up Pieces of a Broken Heart
  • 5.I'm Waltzing With a Broken Heart
  • 6.Just a Man and His Dog
  • 7.Ruby Red Lips
  • 8.Television
  • 9.Tit for Tat
  • 10.Two Cents Three Eggs and a Postcard
  • 11.Last Thing I Want Is Your Pity
  • 12.Don't Be Ashamed of Your Age
  • 13.I Wish I Had a Nickel
  • 14.Candy Kisses
  • 15.Careless Kisses
  • 16.I'm Throwing Rice
  • 17.Steal Away
  • 18.Tennessee Polka
  • 19.Tennessee Border
  • 20.When God Dips His Love in My Heart
  • 21.I Gotta Have My Baby Back
  • 22.Sunday Down in Tennessee
  • 23.Tennessee Border, No. 2 - Red Foley, Ernest Tubb
  • 24.Goodnight Irene
  • 25.Choc'late Ice Cream Cone

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Birmingham Bounce
  • 2.Chattanooga Shoe Shine Boy
  • 3.Hillbilly Fever, No. 2
  • 4.Just a Closer Walk With Thee
  • 5.Love Bug Itch
  • 6.Somebody's Cryin'
  • 7.Sugarfoot Rag
  • 8.Cincinnatti Dancin' Pig
  • 9.M-I-S-S-I-S-S-I-P-P-I
  • 10.Old Kentucky Fox Chase
  • 11.Texas vs Kentucky
  • 12.Sugarfoot Rag Square Dance
  • 13.Strange Little Girl
  • 14.Tater Pie
  • 15.Alabama Jubilee
  • 16.Hobo Boogie
  • 17.I Want to Be With You Always
  • 18.Hot Rod Race
  • 19.(There'll Be) Peace in the Valley
  • 20.My Heart Cries for You
  • 21.Night Train to Memphis
  • 22.Dixie
  • 23.Milk Bucket Boogie
  • 24.I Gotta Have You
  • 25.Midnight

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Salty Dog Rag
  • 2.Don't Let the Stars Get in Your Eyes
  • 3.Too Old to Cut the Mustard
  • 4.Deep Blues
  • 5.Shake a Hand
  • 6.No Help Wanted
  • 7.Hot Dog Rag
  • 8.Hot Toddy
  • 9.Double Datin'
  • 10.You're a Real Good Friend
  • 11.Playin' Dominoes and Shootin' Dice
  • 12.It's the Mileage That's Slowin' Us Down
  • 13.One by One
  • 14.Skinnie Minnie Fishtail
  • 15.My Window Faces South
  • 16.Hearts of Stone
  • 17.As Far as I'm Concerned
  • 18.Pinball Boogie
  • 19.As Long as I Live
  • 20.Hominy Grits
  • 21.(A) Satisfied Mind
  • 22.Plantation Boogie
  • 23.Crawdad Song
  • 24.Make Believe ('Til We Can Make It Come True)
  • 25.Frosty the Snowman

Product Description:

Personnel: Evelyn Knight, Kitty Wells, Minnie Pearl, Roberta Lee (vocals); Grady Martin, Billy Byrd (guitar, electric guitar); Hank Garland, Hartford Taylor, Jack Anglin, Louis Innis (guitar); Zeke Turner (electric guitar); Bud Isaacs, Don Helms, Billy Robinson , Dickie Harris (steel guitar); Mack Mcgarr, Karl Davis (mandolin); Dorris Paul Warren, Harry (Simovitz) Sims, Homer "Slim" Miller (fiddle); Augie Klein (accordion); Jack Drake, Clyde Moffett, Ernie Newton, Bob Moore & His Orchestra, Brownie Reynolds, Johnnie Wright (baritone saxophone); Francis Craig (trombone); Owen Bradley (piano, organ, xylophone); Farris Coursey (drums, snare drum, percussion); Buddy Harman (drums).
Liner Note Author: Adam Komorowski.
Recording information: Castle Hotel, Tulane Hotel, Nashville, TN (04/11/1933-04/07/1955); Castle Studio, Tulane Hotel, Nashville, TN (04/11/1933-04/07/1955); Chicago, IL (04/11/1933-04/07/1955); Ryman Auditorium, Nashville, TN (04/11/1933-04/07/1955); Springfield, MO (04/11/1933-04/07/1955); WSM, Studio B, Nashville, TN (04/11/1933-04/07/1955).
With his warm, assuring vocals, Red Foley brought class to a country genre that at times was too ragged and reckless for its own good in the 1930s and '40s, and if he didn't stretch boundaries, he didn't really need to, and ended up landing some 41 songs on the country charts between 1944 and 1959. This extensive four-disc, 100-song set has virtually everything a Foley fan might ever need, including key songs like 1944's "Smoke on the Water," 1947's "New Jolie Blonde," 1948's "Tennessee Saturday Night" (although he was born in Kentucky, Foley may have set a record for most songs recorded about the state of Tennessee), his signature song "Chattanooga Shoe Shine Boy" from 1950, and 1951's surprise gospel hit "(There'll Be) Peace in the Valley)." It's all here. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Red Foley

Product Info

  • UPC: 805520021074
  • Shipping Weight: 0.48/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)