My Bloody Valentine Isn't Anything

Isn't Anything
47 ratings
Only 5 copies left
Price: $7.18
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $0.80 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  36KFF
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: June 8, 1993
  • Label: Sire / London/Rhino

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 7/9/93, p.50
"...They nearly bury their somber melodies beneath surface noise. But unearthing the tunes is part of the listening pleasure..." - Rating: A-
Q - 7/01, p.88
Included in Q's "50 Heaviest Albums of All Time" - "...Staggeringly dense....Unveiling the softest extremely loud music ever....Even the barely intelligible lyrics contained hidden traumas..."
Alternative Press - 7/95, p.88
Ranked #46 in AP's list of the 'Top 99 Of '85-'95' - "...ISN'T ANYTHING is the most important rock album of the '80s, barely nudging out PSYCHOCANDY....Guitarists Kevin Shields and Bilinda Butcher introduced a new aesthetic, creating unbearably sensual, alien environments through furious tremolo-bar wrenching and outrageous distortion..."
Q (Magazine) - p.148
4 stars out of 5 -- "[T]his is a record that heads straight for the inner ear, skewing, disorientating, toppling off balance. There are wonderful songs lurking here..."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.118
4 stars out of 5 -- "Today, it's still striking for its consistently dark, erotic tone, alternately woozy or aggressively ravenous..."
Uncut (magazine) - p.91
"'Lose My Breath' and 'No More Sorry' are smoldering beauties, highlighting Butcher's extinguished-torch vocals..."


  • 1.Soft As Snow (But Warm Inside)
  • 2.Lose My Breath
  • 3.Cupid Come
  • 4.You're Still In A Dream, (When You Wake)
  • 5.No More Sorry
  • 6.All I Need
  • 7.Feed Me With Your Kiss
  • 8.Sueisfine
  • 9.Several Girls Galore
  • 10.You Never Should
  • 11.Nothing Much To Lose
  • 12.I Can See It (But I Can't Feel It)

Product Description:

Personnel: Kevin Shields, Bilinda Butcher (vocals, guitar); Deb Googe (bass); Colm O'Ciosoig (drums).
Engineers: D. Anderson, S. Nunn, A. Russell.
Personnel: Bilinda Butcher, Kevin Shields (vocals, guitar); Colm O'Ciosoig (drums).
Recording information: Foel Studios; GreenHouse; Time Square Studios.
Photographer: Joe Dilworth.
From its very first moments, My Bloody Valentine's ISN'T ANYTHING announces a musical revolution--the rough, insistent snare hits are joined by scalar bass runs, finally uniting and pausing to give way to a barely recognizable guitar swirl and up-close, unproduced vocals as a new form is born. The album's inimitable sonic collages sought to marry the brash experimentation and punk ethic of Sonic Youth with more pop-oriented production values and songcraft. Mastermind Kevin Shields's somewhat more streamlined European update on the noise-rock ethic may carry an intimidating sonic swagger, but beneath there beats the heart of a musical unit firmly grounded in pop.
The open-ended sonic stir and dreamy vocal of "Lose My Breath" create a swirling atmosphere, held aloft by a single, plodding acoustic guitar. This kaleidoscopic intensity reaches its apex in the stirring drama of "No More Sorry," a tightly-wound tune that pitches like a ship in a storm, battered by waves of harsh, unforgiving guitar textures. The brash, pounding punk ideal is embraced most obviously on "(When You Awake) You're Still In A Dream" and "Feed Me With Your Kiss."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 47 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for My Bloody Valentine

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 95,017
  • UPC: 093624523123
  • Shipping Weight: 0.19/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)