The Kingston Trio The Essential Kingston Trio (2-CD)

The Essential Kingston Trio (2-CD)
22 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
Sale: $23.38
SUPER SAVINGS: $20.76 Limited Time Only
List Price: $25.98
You Save: $5.22 (20% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  36K88
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Shout Factory

Entertainment Reviews:

Dirty Linen - p.92
"[W]hen you listen to these recordings you will realize just how pervasive the group's influence has been."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Tom Dooley
  • 2.Scotch and Soda
  • 3.Coplas
  • 4.Saro Jane
  • 5.Sloop John B
  • 6.Bay of Mexico
  • 7.They Call the Wind Maria
  • 8.Shady Grove / Lonesome Traveler
  • 9.When the Saints Go Marching In
  • 10.Tijuana Jail
  • 11.M.T.A.
  • 12.Early in the Mornin'
  • 13.Corey Corey
  • 14.Molly Dee
  • 15.A Worried Man
  • 16.Haul Away
  • 17.Matador, El
  • 18.Raspberries, Strawberries
  • 19.Bad Man's Blunder
  • 20.Everglades
  • 21.Buddy Better Get on Down the Line

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Bonny Hielan' Laddie
  • 2.Coast of California
  • 3.Coming from the Mountains
  • 4.Reuben James
  • 5.Take Her Out of Pity
  • 6.Jesse James
  • 7.Where Have All the Flowers Gone
  • 8.Little Light
  • 9.Chilly Winds
  • 10.Oh Miss Mary
  • 11.Roddy McCorley
  • 12.Greenback Dollar
  • 13.The Long Black Veil
  • 14.Honey, Are You Mad at Your Man
  • 15.Reverend Mr. Black
  • 16.The Patriot Game
  • 17.Hobo's Lullaby
  • 18.Desert Pete
  • 19.I'm Going Home

Product Description:

The Kingston Trio: Dave Guard, Nick Reynolds , Bob Shane.
Audio Remasterer: Ron McMaster.
Liner Note Author: Bill Bush.
The Kingston Trio were the planet's most successful vocal group from 1958 until around 1962, and if they didn't exactly start the urban folk revival, they were instrumental in its sudden accessibility, as labels scrambled to sign up every acoustic player in sight to cash in on the Trio's marketability. This was a group that placed four albums concurrently on Billboard's Pop Top Ten, after all, a feat not even the Beatles or Elvis Presley ever accomplished, and it all started in 1958 with a smoothed out and understated cover of an old Appalachian murder ballad. Critics have long attacked the Kingston Trio (the original lineup consisted of Bob Shane, Nick Reynolds, and Dave Guard) for lacking any grit or authenticity, but the group's version of "Tom Dooley," although it did indeed have all its rough edges knocked off, was immediately infectious, and since it only had two chords and an easy to sing melody line, even beginning guitarists could handle it with a minimum of practice. A cottage industry in urban folk was born, and while there is no denying that the Trio watered down their folk material to fit mass consumption, the group became a very powerful catalyst for public interest in the real stuff. This two-disc set has virtually every key track from the Kingston Trio's two main incarnations, with hits like "Tom Dooley," "M.T.A.," "A Worried Man," and "Tijuana Jail" from the original lineup, and later hits like "Where Have All the Flowers Gone" and "Greenback Dollar" from the John Stewart era lineup (Stewart replaced Guard in the trio in 1961). The Kingston Trio officially disbanded in 1967, although re-formed versions of the group in various configurations have toured and recorded since. The truly essential stuff is all here, though, and if the Trio's shined up folk material sounds a good bit tame and unassuming by 21st century standards, it was a revelation in its time. Think about it. You could actually make a fortune off an ancient Appalachian murder ballad. There's gold in them there hills, and the Kingston Trio discovered it. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 22 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for The Kingston Trio

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 23,921
  • UPC: 826663101836
  • Shipping Weight: 0.27/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)