Norman Brown After the Storm

After the Storm
38 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  XJFS
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Motown


  • Buy for $0.991.Take Me There
  • Buy for $0.992.After The Storm
  • Buy for $0.693.That's The Way Love Goes
  • Buy for $0.994.Any Love
  • Buy for $0.995.Lydian
  • Buy for $0.996.For The Love of You
  • Buy for $0.997.Trashman
  • Buy for $0.998.It Costs To Love
  • Buy for $0.999.Let's Come Together
  • Buy for $0.9910.Acoustic Time
  • Buy for $0.9911.El Dulce Sol
  • Buy for $0.9912.Family

Product Description:

Personnel: Norman Brown (acoustic & electric guitar, synthesizer, keyboards, programming, background vocals); Gary Bias (alto & tenor saxophone); Raymond Brown (trumpet, flugelhorn); Reginald Young (trombone); Brian Simpson, Gail Johnson (keyboards); Herman Jackson (keyboards, piano, programming); Crayge Lindesay (guitar, programming); Tony Dumas (acoustic bass); Larry Kimpel, Freddie Washington, James Manning, George Lopez (bass); Ricky Lawson, Land Richards, Alonzo "Scooter" Powell (drums); Darryl Munyungo Jackson (percussion).
Background vocals: Lynne Fiddmont, Lindsey Brown, Bridgette B. Bryant, Arnold McCuller, Baby Lee, De Netria Champ.
Recorded at Winsonic Process & Recording, Beverly Hills, California and Quintus Recording Studios, Hollywood, California.
Personnel: Norman Brown (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, wah-wah guitar, background vocals); Crayge Lindesay (wah-wah guitar, keyboards, drum programming); Gary Bias (alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Ray Brown (trumpet, flugelhorn); Reggie C. Young (trombone); Brian Simpson (horns, keyboards); Herman Jackson (piano, keyboards); Gail Sherman Johnson (keyboards); Tony Dumas (acoustic bass); Alonzo Powell, Land Richards, Ricky Lawson (drums); Darryl Jackson (percussion); Denetria Champ, Baby Lee, Lynne Fiddmont, Arnold McCuller, Bridgette Bryant (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: Malcolm Cecil; Ralph Sutton ; Robert Margouleff; Brant Biles.
Unknown Contributor Role: Brian Simpson.
Arrangers: Crayge Lindesay; Land Richards; Norman Brown .
In the mid-'90s, Mojazz -- the contemporary jazz imprint of Motown -- was the place to turn for the best examples of the ways funk meets more creative improvisations. Norman Brown is one of the genre's brightest lights -- a George Benson type whose stirring fluidity makes magic with an edge Benson never had. Many of the tracks on After the Storm are formulaic, mid-tempo gems, but Brown adds zest to even the most typical groove with a lightning fast style that jumps off the disc. The Janet Jackson and Luther Vandross covers are fine, but better are more unique originals like "Trashman," "Take Me There," and others that use acoustic guitar and trumpet. As solid as this stuff gets. ~ Jonathan Widran

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.9
Based on 38 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Norman Brown

Product Info

  • UPC: 731453030121
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)