Irma Thomas A Woman's Viewpoint: The Essential 1970s Recordings

A Woman's Viewpoint: The Essential 1970s
Rating 4.0
3 ratings
Your Price: $23.99
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  FY9G
on most orders of $50
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: January 30, 2006
  • Label: Kent Records Uk

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - p.109
3 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he switch from poppy New Orleans grooves to fully blown diva is well captured on this 19-track collection."
Living Blues - p.78
"Thomas was in her prime when these recordings were made....If you're an Irma Thomas fan, or a fan of southern soul, this is essential listening."
No Depression - pp.120-121
"Thomas' voice, rich with that unmistakable yet intangible deep-soul quality, proves to be a versatile instrument comfortable expressing devotion, defeat, or defiance, depending on the role she's playing..."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.118
5 stars out of 5 -- "[With ] some of Thomas's most expressive vocal performances; both strident and self-assured on 'She'll Never Be Your Wife', fueled with burning anguish and hair-pulling frustration on 'Wish Someone Would Care'..."


  • 1.In Between Tears
  • 2.She'll Never Be Your Wife
  • 3.These Four Walls
  • 4.What's So Wrong With You Loving Me
  • 5.You're The Dog (I Do The Barking Myself)
  • 6.Coming From Behing (Monologue) / Wish Someone Would Care
  • 7.Turn My World Around
  • 8.We Won't Be In Your Way Anymore
  • 9.I'd Do It All Over You
  • 10.I'm So In Love
  • 11.Can't Get Enough
  • 12.Save A Little Bit For Me
  • 13.That's How I Feel About You
  • 14.A Woman Left Lonely
  • 15.Dance Me Down Easy - (remix)
  • 16.Zero Willpower
  • 17.Don't Blame Him For What You Didn't Do
  • 18.Safe With Me
  • 19.Looking Back

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Tony Rounce.
Recording information: 1970-2005.
Irma Thomas had already established herself as one of R&B's finest vocalists in the 1960s, a decade that saw the artist's most artistically (if not commercially) successful efforts. Although Thomas's '70s work was sporadic and less consistent, it was still of a high caliber. A WOMAN'S VIEWPOINT--THE ESSENTIAL 1970s RECORDINGS collects the best of Thomas's output from the decade, including rarities, singles, and selections from her album IN BETWEEN TEARS. Since many of these tracks are difficult to find, A WOMAN'S VIEWPOINT provides a valuable service, and is a great way for Thomas fans to catch up on some of the New Orleans queen's lesser-known material.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.0
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Irma Thomas

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 89,569
  • UPC: 029667226028
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item