Joe Tex Skinny Legs & All

Skinny Legs & All
2 ratings
Price: $12.59
List Price: $13.99
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  FY99
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: March 1, 1994
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Kent Records Uk


  • 1.S.Y.S.L.J.F.M. (The Letter Song)
  • 2.Love You Save, The (May Be Your Own)
  • 3.Show Me
  • 4.Hold What You've Got
  • 5.Heep See Few Know
  • 6.Someone to Take Your Place
  • 7.One Monkey Don't Stop No Show
  • 8.If Sugar Was as Sweet as You
  • 9.Meet Me in Church
  • 10.You Got What It Takes
  • 11.I Had a Good Home But I Left, Pt. 1
  • 12.Don't Let Your Left Hand Know
  • 13.Woman, A (Can Change a Man)
  • 14.Skinny Legs and All
  • 15.I Want To (Do Everything for You)
  • 16.A Sweet Woman Like You
  • 17.I Believe I'm Gonna Make It
  • 18.Men Are Gettin' Scarce
  • 19.I'm a Man
  • 20.I've Got to Do a Little Bit Better
  • 21.Papa Was Too
  • 22.Watching the One (That Brings the Bad News)
  • 23.The Truest Woman in the World
  • 24.Chicken Crazy

Product Description:

Recorded between 1962 and 1968.
Personnel: Joe Tex (vocals); Lee Royal Hadley, Leroy Hadley, Johnny Cristopher, Reggie Young (guitar); Clarence Ford, Sam Miller, Charles Farley, Eddie Williams , Excell Dorsett (tenor saxophone); Glenn Barbeaux, Mack Williams (baritone saxophone); Sammie Coleman, Warren Johns, Johnny Whitrack, Emile Hall (trumpet); Norman "Sly" Sellers (trombone); Bobby Woods (piano); Bobby Emmons (organ); J. Alfred Cook, Tommy Cogbill (bass guitar); Clyde Williams, Gene Chrisman (drums).
Liner Note Author: Clifford White.
Recording information: American Studio, Memphis, TN (1962-1968); Beaumont, TX (1962-1968); Muscle Shoals, AL (1962-1968); Nashville, TN (1962-1968).
Photographer: Roger Armstrong.
Tex, whose style derived from gospel and country music, was one of the best and most versatile of Southern soul singers, as well as one of the few who was able to survive into the disco era without really changing his approach.. This album collects most of his work between 1962 and 1969, beginning with his early efforts as a sort of Fats Domino wannabe ("You Got What It Takes"), and it includes both his breakthrough 1964 hit "Hold What You've Got" (Tex sings only the choruses--on the verses, he's basically delivering a sermon) and the rowdy and funny "Skinny Legs and All," the two songs that most define the outer limits of his style.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Joe Tex

Product Info

  • UPC: 029667211420
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)