Thelma Jones Second Chance

Second Chance
Price: $26.42
You Save: $0.57 (2% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  FJHY
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: June 4, 2007
  • Label: Kent Records Uk


  • 1.Stronger
  • 2.Never Leave Me
  • 3.Gotta Find A Way
  • 4.Oh - Oh, Here Comes The Heartbreak
  • 5.Souvenirs Of A Heartbreak (Previously Unissued Alternate Take Of Barry 1018)
  • 6.I Won't Give Up My Man (Previously Unissued Alternate Take Of Barry 1018)
  • 7.The House That Jack Built
  • 8.Give It To Me Straight
  • 9.Second Chance
  • 10.Mr. Fix-It
  • 11.Salty Tears
  • 12.You're The Song (That I Can't Stop Singing)
  • 13.I'd Rather Leave While I'm In Ove
  • 14.Love, Look What You Got Me Into
  • 15.Lonely, Enough To Try Anything
  • 16.I Want What You Want
  • 17.I Second That Emotion
  • 18.I Can Dream
  • 19.Now That We Found Love
  • 20.Angel Of The Morning
  • 21.How Long
  • 22.Stay A While With Me

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: David Nathan.
Photographer: Tony Rounce.
Aside from her 2006 album, Law of Old, this 21-track compilation contains virtually everything Thelma Jones recorded as a solo artist, including 1967-1968 singles for the Barry label; all the tracks from her 1978 Columbia LP; and a couple non-LP Columbia cuts from the same era. Jones is most known for issuing the original version of "The House That Jack Built" (included here), covered for a hit by Aretha Franklin, who frankly gave it a superior, more memorable interpretation. While this anthology shows Jones to be a solid soul vocalist, that's bound to remain the footnote for which she's known. The late-'60s Barry sides are sturdy soul with stirring vocals and a dash of orchestrated pop, but more respectable than outstanding. The final dozen tracks are all from the Columbia era, and such is their difference from the Barry material that they could almost be the work of a different artist. That's understandable, as about a decade had passed in the meantime and trends in soul music had been totally overhauled. It still makes for an incongruous juxtaposition, the production getting slicker in accordance with the musical changes of the era, Jones' vocals and the material again being more competent than noteworthy. For those who want all of Jones' 1960s and 1970s recordings in one place, however, this is almost one-stop shopping -- "almost" because one of her Barry singles, "Souvenirs of a Heartbreak" and "I Won't Give Up My Man," is represented by alternate takes of the songs. ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 029667227728
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)
Memorial Day: 10am-6pm