Michael Martin Murphey Ultimate Collection

Ultimate Collection
11 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Sale: $10.78
SUPER SAVINGS: $8.34 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $3.64 (30% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  FY3W
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Hip-O Records


  • 1.I Feel Good (I Feel Bad) - (with The Lewis & Clarke Expedition)
  • Buy for $0.992.Geronimo's Cadillac
  • Buy for $0.993.Natchez Trail
  • Buy for $0.994.Calico Silver
  • Buy for $0.995.Harbor For My Soul
  • Buy for $0.996.Boy From The Country
  • Buy for $0.997.What Am I Doing Hangin' 'Round?
  • Buy for $0.998.Backsliders Wine
  • Buy for $0.999.Drunken Lady Of The Morning
  • Buy for $0.9910.Cosmic Cowboy (Part 1)
  • 11.Wildfire
  • 12.Carolina In The Pines
  • 13.Cherokee Fiddle
  • 14.Swans Against The Sun
  • 15.Renegade
  • 16.What's Forever For?
  • 17.Still Taking Chances
  • 18.Will It Be Love By Morning
  • 19.Long Line Of Love
  • 20.From The Word Go
  • 21.I'm Gonna Miss You, Girl

Product Description:

Producers include: Jack Keller, Bob Johnston, Jim Ed Norman, Steve Gibson.
Compilation producer: Mike Ragogna.
Recorded between 1967 and 1987. Includes liner notes by Robyn Flans.
Digitally remastered by Doug Schwartz (Audio Mechanics, Hollywood, California).
Liner Note Author: Robyn Flans.
Michael Martin Murphey presents great challenges to anyone trying to construct a one-disc compilation of his work. For one thing, he has recorded for several record companies, all of which have catalogs now controlled by different major labels: A&M (Universal) 1972-1973; Epic (Sony), 1973-1981; Liberty (EMI), 1982-1983; and Warner Bros. (Warner) (1986-1997). (He has recorded independently since 1998.) For another, he has had at least three different careers, one in the 1970s as a pop singer/songwriter, another in the 1980s as a country singer, and a third as a Western artist. The least likely label to assemble a compilation would seem to be Universal, which possesses only two of his albums. But Hip-O, Universal's reissue arm, is nothing if not ambitious, and so we have this Ultimate Collection. You've got to admit that they've made an effort. No less than 12 of the 79-minute disc's 21 tracks have been licensed from other labels, including the major pop hit "Wildfire" and the number one country hits "What's Forever For?" and "A Long Line of Love." They've even dug up "I Feel Good (I Feel Bad)," the 1967 chart single by Murphey's early group, the Lewis & Clark Expedition. That said, the disc will not entirely satisfy any of Murphey's constituencies. Necessarily, there is a focus on his early solo work, with seven tracks drawn from A&M's Geronimo's Cadillac, while the rest of his career is presented very selectively. Only five tracks cover the Epic years, Murphey's peak as a singer/songwriter, and his period as a mouthpiece for Nashville songwriters is represented by only his biggest country hits. But as of the appearance of this set, neither Epic nor Warner Bros. had bothered to issue a Murphey best-of, which makes this miscast but well-intended effort by far the best Murphey collection ever released. ~ William Ruhlmann

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 11 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Michael Martin Murphey

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 31,173
  • UPC: 731455669824
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Country & Bluegrass genre:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)