Eric B. & Rakim Gold (2-CD)

Gold (2-CD)
6 ratings
SUPER SAVINGS: $8.84 Limited Time Only
List Price: $9.95
You Save: $1.11 (11% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  FY24
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Hip-O Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $1.291.Eric B. Is President
  • Buy for $1.292.I Know You Got Soul
  • Buy for $1.293.I Ain't No Joke
  • Buy for $1.294.Paid In Full (Seven Minutes Of Madness) - (the coldcut remix)
  • Buy for $1.295.My Melody - (clean original mix)
  • Buy for $1.296.Follow The Leader
  • Buy for $1.297.Microphone Fiend
  • Buy for $0.998.Lyrics Of Fury
  • Buy for $0.999.Put Your Hands Together - (fon force mix)
  • Buy for $0.9910.R, The - (edit remix)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.Let The Rhythm Hit 'Em - (clean UPSO mix)
  • Buy for $0.992.No Omega - (extended remix)
  • Buy for $0.993.In The Ghetto - (extended remix)
  • Buy for $0.994.Run For Cover
  • Buy for $0.995.Mahogany - (clean version)
  • Buy for $0.996.What's On Your Mind (House Party II Rap Theme) - (extended vocal version)
  • Buy for $0.997.Rest Assured
  • Buy for $0.998.What's Going On
  • Buy for $1.299.Juice (Know The Ledge) - (main mix)
  • Buy for $0.9910.Casualties Of War - (radical radio edit)
  • Buy for $1.2911.Don't Sweat The Technique

Product Description:

Eric B. & Rakim: Rakim (rap vocals); Eric B. (turntables).
Personnel: DJ Cell, Matt Black (scratches).
Audio Mixers: Mark Harder; Lee Anthony.
Audio Remixers: DJ Mark the 45 King; Gary G. Wix; Hank Shocklee; Michael Mixx'in Moor; Dave Dorrell; Raine Shine; C.J. Mackintosh.
Liner Note Author: Tom Terrell.
Recording information: A&M Studios, Hollywood, CA; Libra Digital Sound, Long Island City, NY; Power Play Studios, NY; SKip Saylor Recording; The Hit Factory, New York, NY.
Photographers: Michael Benabib; David Corio; Cesar Vera.
Arranger: Benny Nagari.
The contribution DJ/MC duo Eric B. & Rakim made to hip-hop cannot be overestimated. Their two stone-cold classic albums PAID IN FULL and FOLLOW THE LEADER are cornerstones of the movement, and have probably influenced, either directly or indirectly, every turntablist and rapper carrying the hip-hop torch. The double-disc set GOLD does a fine job of culling the highlights from those two releases, including the lyrically fierce "Follow the Leader," the "Funky Drummer"-break-fueled "Lyrics of Fury," and the similarly James Brown-sample-driven "I Ain't No Joke" and "I Know You Got Soul." Kicking off the set, of course, is "Eric B. is President," one of hip-hop's all-time greatest anthems.
Disc Two of GOLD mostly concerns itself with remixes, extended versions, and "clean" edits of songs (three remixes appear on the first disc as well). It covers material from the duo's third and fourth releases (1990's LET THE RHYTHM HIT 'EM and 1992's DON'T SWEAT THE TECHNIQUE, respectively), and while Eric B. and Rakim had slipped in popularity by the early '90s, these cuts prove their skills were as sharp as ever. The only drawback to GOLD is that some fans might prefer the original versions over the remixes, but the non-album material will lure die-hard fans, while still representing the duo's impeccable craft.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Eric B. & Rakim

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 112,298
  • UPC: 602498814284
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)