Gregory Isaacs The Ruler 1972-1990 (2-CD + DVD)

The Ruler 1972-1990 (2-CD + DVD)
1 rating
SUPER SAVINGS: $22.57 Limited Time Only
List Price: $25.98
You Save: $3.41 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  XK73
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: October 24, 2011
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: VP Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.My Only Lover
  • 2.Do You Ever
  • 3.All I Have Is Love
  • 4.Lonely Soldier
  • 5.Love Is Overdue
  • 6.Never Be Ungrateful
  • 7.Ba Da
  • 8.The Sun Shines for Me
  • 9.Set the Captives Free
  • 10.My Religion
  • 11.Philistines
  • 12.My Number One
  • 13.Tumbling Tears
  • 14.Special Guest
  • 15.Border
  • 16.Storm
  • 17.Mr. Cop [Extended Version]
  • 18.Sister Love [Extra Special Version]
  • 19.My Time
  • 20.Slave Master

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Let's Dance
  • 2.John Public
  • 3.Soon Forward
  • 4.Tune In
  • 5.Top Ten
  • 6.Permanent Lover
  • 7.Front Door
  • 8.If I Don't Have You
  • 9.Night Nurse
  • 10.Private Secretary
  • 11.Let Off S'upm
  • 12.Private Beach Party
  • 13.Victim
  • 14.One Man Against the World
  • 15.Rumours
  • 16.Red Rose for Gregory
  • 17.Big All Around - (featuring Dennis Brown)
  • 18.Jealousy - (featuring Jimmy Cliff)
  • 19.My Native Woman
  • 20.Too Good to Be True

Product Description:

Personnel: Dalton Browne, Ranchie, Dwight Pinkney, Earl "Chinna" Smith , Bingy Bunny (guitar); Dean Fraser, Herman Marquis, Tommy McCook, Bobby Ellis (horns); Robbie Lyn, Frankie Waul, Ansel Collins (keyboards); Cleveland "Clevie" Browne (drums, background vocals); Sly Dunbar (drums); Michael Bennett , The Heptones, The Mighty Diamonds, J.C. Lodge (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: Courtney Small; Errol Thompson; Maxie; Ossie Hibbert; Steven Stanley ; Syl Gordon.
Liner Note Author: Steve "Serpiente" Stromberg.
Recording information: Anchor Studio; Black Ark, Kingston, JA; Channel One, Kingston, JA; Dynamic Sounds, Kingston, JA; Music Works Studio; Randy's, Kingston, JA.
Editor: Alex Bartolomei.
Photographers: Shizuo Ishii; Sonny Ochiai.
Released almost a year after his death at the age of 59, The Ruler: 1972-1990 is a fantastic 40-track collection covering the smooth reggae crooner's best years. Heartbreak, heartache, and occasional social commentary were well within Gregory Isaacs' grasp, with all of it delivered in a convincingly reserved tone, earning him the nickname "The Cool Ruler." The quintessential numbers are almost all here, with "My Only Lover," "My Number One," "Mr. Cop," "Night Nurse," "Rumours," and "Red Rose for Gregory" making this one stellar track list. The stern uprising track "Slave Master" is here, too, although in a live version. Still, it's a very good version and the compilation's excellent second-tier selections more than make up for it; plus, to get some extended mixes as well is absolute gravy. Buy the physical release and a live 1984 show from the Brixton Academy is included on DVD, and the booklet features a welcome essay from Steve "Serpiente" Stromberg along with track-by-track commentary. ~ David Jeffries

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Gregory Isaacs

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 97,231
  • UPC: 054645418621
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)