Michael Ball Centre Stage

Centre Stage
27 ratings
Price: $12.56
List Price: $12.98
You Save: $0.42 (3% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  XK5S
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Hip-O Records


  • Buy for $0.991.Every Story - (from "Aida")
  • Buy for $0.992.Can You Feel the Love Tonight - (from "The Lion King")
  • Buy for $0.993.Boy From Nowhere, The - (from "Matador")
  • Buy for $0.994.Lift the Wings - (from "Riverdance")
  • Buy for $0.995.Not While I'm Around - (from "Sweeney Todd")
  • Buy for $0.996.The Phantom of the Opera
  • Buy for $0.997.Music of the Night - (from "The Phantom Of The Opera")
  • Buy for $0.998.Winner Takes It All, The - (from "Mamma Mia")
  • Buy for $0.999.Seasons of Love - (from "Rent")
  • Buy for $0.9910.Bring Him Home - (from "Les Miserables")
  • Buy for $0.9911.Tell Me on a Sunday - (from "Song & Dance")
  • Buy for $0.9912.Immortality - (from "Saturday Night Fever")
  • Buy for $0.9913.Send in the Clowns - (from "A Little Night Music")
  • Buy for $0.9914.Tell Me It's Not True - (from "Blood Brothers")

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Michael Ball (vocals, piano).
Recorded at Skratch Studios, Surrey, England, Olympic Studios and Angel Studios, London, England.
Thanks to Andrew Lloyd Webber, Michael Ball has been a star in his native U.K. since 1989, when he created the role of Alex Dillingham in Lloyd Webber's musical Aspects of Love and got to sing "Love Changes Everything," which became a number one hit. Since then, while continuing to appear in West End shows, he's charted ten solo albums in Britain. This one, the tenth, makes a good introduction to listeners in the U.S. (where Hip-O issued four of his previous discs in 2000). The song list consists entirely of show music, with qualifications, since "The Winner Takes It All" was a hit for ABBA before it was included with a collection of the group's other songs in the musical Mamma Mia, and the Bee Gees' "Immortality" was written for and introduced by Celine Dion before being interpolated into the score of the stage version of Saturday Night Fever. Ball harks back to early triumphs with "Bring Him Home" from Les Miserables, the show in which he made his West End debut in 1985, as well as "The Music of the Night" and the title song from The Phantom of the Opera (the latter a duet with Lesley Garrett), which he appeared in in 1987. His other choices tend to reflect his immersion in sub-operatic pop-style theater music, though he also throws in a couple of Stephen Sondheim songs. He possesses a supple tenor that he frequently uses in melodramatic and stagy ways, an artificial approach that may be unconvincing to American listeners used to more down-to-earth interpretations. This isn't a collection that takes any chances, and it pales in comparison to Donny Osmond's 2001 album This Is the Moment, which employs several of the same songs, much less the catalog of Michael Crawford. ~ William Ruhlmann

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 27 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Michael Ball

Product Info

  • UPC: 044001607127
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)