Ashford & Simpson Been Found

Been Found
8 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  66QVE
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Ichiban

Entertainment Reviews:

Vibe - 12/96, p.172
"...Angelou's motherly rumbles...complement Nick and Val's breezy groove..."


  • 1.Been Found
  • 2.I Remember All
  • 3.Made For Me
  • 4.Where We Come From
  • 5.This Time It's Real
  • 6.What If
  • 7.Just Talking
  • 8.Keeps On Getting Better
  • 9.Sweet Thing
  • 10.It's Your Love
  • 11.Why Shouldn't It Be Me

Product Description:

Ashford & Simpson: Nickolas Ashford (vocals); Valerie Simpson (vocals, keyboards).
Additional personnel includes: Maya Angelou (spoken vocals); Nile Rodgers (arranger, guitar); Jeff Golub (guitar); Ronnie Cuber (baritone saxophone); Lew Soloff (trumpet, flugelhorn); Ralph MacDonald (congas, percussion).
Producers include: Nickolas Ashford, Valerie Simpson, Nile Rodgers, Jimmy Simpson, Herb Lane.
After an extremely long time without a recording contract, the dynamic R&B husband-and-wife singing duo Ashford & Simpson decided to create their own label. This time out, they returned with a friend, the poet Maya Angelou. This is far from their best material, but the concept itself makes this an interesting project. Throughout these 11 urban adult contemporary songs Ashford & Simpson weave their luminous harmonies around Angelou's distinctively gravel-voiced recitations. The title track is the most inviting and boasts a delicious chorus on the subject of finding true love that will last. Angelou opens "Where We Come From," a reflection on childhood, with heartfelt nostalgia that works very well with the song's construction. However, sometimes the hip-hop influence later in the set becomes overwhelming on cuts like "This Time It's Real" and "Made for Me"; moreover, the poems don't always snugly fit the songs, but seem to have been inserted for no reason other than the idea that each song should have one. Still, Ashford & Simpson's following will savor this set in spite of its flaws. ~ Bil Carpenter

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.9
Based on 8 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Ashford & Simpson

Product Info

  • UPC: 807240100428
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)