The Smiths Complete (8-CD)

Complete (8-CD)
32 ratings
Price: $72.88
List Price: $79.98
You Save: $7.10 (9% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (8 Discs)
sku:  A492
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 8
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Rhino

Entertainment Reviews:

Magnet - p.51
"[W]hate emerges from COMPLETE is a guitarist equal to the likes of Ry Cooder and Mark Ribot: a master musician capable of creating new worlds as easily as he inhabited and recombined old ones without ever hogging the spotlight."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.110
4 stars out of 5 -- "LOUDER THAN BOMBS and THE WORLD WON'T LISTEN prove how indecently productive The Smiths were....[COMPLETE] affords a quarter-century pause to reflect that this epochal group ended at the right time."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.99
5 stars out of 5 -- "Marr's the one who soars on these records -- now more than ever....Morrissey sounds sensual -- check him out on 'Stretch Out And Wait' -- and altogether adult."
Uncut (magazine) - p.96
5 stars out of 5 -- "It took one single to make them seem interesting, another to confirm that they were special, and then an early 1984 b-side to prove that they were magnificent."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Reel Around the Fountain
  • 2.You've Got Everything Now
  • 3.Miserable Lie
  • 4.Pretty Girls Make Graves
  • 5.The Hand That Rocks the Cradle
  • 6.This Charming Man
  • 7.Still Ill
  • 8.Hand in Glove
  • 9.What Difference Does It Make?
  • 10.I Don't Owe You Anything
  • 11.Suffer Little Children

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.The Headmaster Ritual
  • 2.Rusholme Ruffians
  • 3.I Want the One I Can't Have
  • 4.What She Said
  • 5.That Joke Isn't Funny Anymore
  • 6.Nowhere Fast
  • 7.Well I Wonder
  • 8.Barbarism Begins at Home
  • 9.Meat Is Murder

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.The Queen Is Dead
  • 2.Frankly, Mr. Shankly
  • 3.I Know It's Over
  • 4.Never Had No One Ever
  • 5.Cemetry Gates
  • 6.Bigmouth Strikes Again
  • 7.The Boy with the Thorn in His Side
  • 8.Vicar in a Tutu
  • 9.There Is a Light That Never Goes Out
  • 10.Some Girls Are Bigger Than Others

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.A Rush and a Push and the Land Is Ours
  • 2.I Started Something I Couldn't Finish
  • 3.Death of a Disco Dancer
  • 4.Girlfriend in a Coma
  • 5.Stop Me If You Think You've Heard This One Before
  • 6.Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me
  • 7.Unhappy Birthday
  • 8.Painting a Vulgar Picture
  • 9.Death at One's Elbow
  • 10.I Won't Share You

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.The Queen Is Dead
  • 2.Panic
  • 3.Vicar in a Tutu
  • 4.Ask
  • 5.His Latest Flame / Rusholme Ruffians
  • 6.The Boy with the Thorn in His Side
  • 7.Rubber Ring / What She Said
  • 8.Is It Really So Strange?
  • 9.Cemetry Gates
  • 10.London
  • 11.I Know It's Over
  • 12.The Draize Train
  • 13.Still Ill
  • 14.Bigmouth Strikes Again

Tracks on Disc 6:

  • 1.William, It Was Really Nothing
  • 2.What Difference Does It Make?
  • 3.These Things Take Time
  • 4.This Charming Man
  • 5.How Soon Is Now?
  • 6.Handsome Devil
  • 7.Hand in Glove
  • 8.Still Ill
  • 9.Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now
  • 10.This Night Has Opened My Eyes
  • 11.You've Got Everything Now
  • 12.Accept Yourself
  • 13.Girl Afraid
  • 14.Back to the Old House
  • 15.Reel Around the Fountain
  • 16.Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want

Tracks on Disc 7:

  • 1.Panic
  • 2.Ask
  • 3.London
  • 4.Bigmouth Strikes Again
  • 5.Shakespeare's Sister
  • 6.There Is a Light That Never Goes Out
  • 7.Shoplifters of the World Unite
  • 8.The Boy with the Thorn in His Side
  • 9.Money Changes Everything
  • 10.Asleep
  • 11.Unloveable
  • 12.Half a Person
  • 13.Stretch Out and Wait
  • 14.That Joke Isn't Funny Anymore
  • 15.Oscillate Wildly
  • 16.You Just Haven't Earned It Yet, Baby
  • 17.Rubber Ring
  • 18.Golden Lights

Tracks on Disc 8:

  • 1.Is It Really So Strange
  • 2.Sheila Take a Bow
  • 3.Shoplifters of the World Unite
  • 4.Sweet and Tender Hooligan
  • 5.Half a Person
  • 6.London
  • 7.Panic
  • 8.Girl Afraid
  • 9.Shakespeare's Sister
  • 10.William, It Was Really Nothing
  • 11.You Just Haven't Earned It Yet, Baby
  • 12.Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now
  • 13.Ask
  • 14.Golden Lights
  • 15.Oscillate Wildly
  • 16.These Things Take Time
  • 17.Rubber Ring
  • 18.Back to the Old House
  • 19.Hand in Glove
  • 20.Stretch Out and Wait
  • 21.Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want
  • 22.This Night Has Opened My Eyes
  • 23.Unloveable
  • 24.Asleep

Product Description:

Personnel: Morrissey (vocals); Johnny Marr (guitar, mandolin, harmonica, piano, harmonium); Craig Gannon (guitar); Andy Rourke (cello, bass guitar); Mike Joyce (drums); Orchestrazia Ardwick.
Liner Note Author: Ivor Jones.
Photographers: Ian Tilton; Steve Wright; Jo‚lle Dep¢nt; Andy Catlin.
First off, no, this box set doesn't contain the Complete Smiths, not even in its super-deluxe edition containing vinyl replicas of the group's singles and LPs. Stray B-sides don't appear here, nor do the scrapped sessions for the first album and a few other heavily bootlegged numbers, but what is here are sterling remasters -- allegedly supervised by Johnny Marr -- of the band's four albums, three compilations, and lone live album, all released during the band's exceedingly brief lifespan. What matters is that the remastering is exceptional, the best comparison being the Beatles 2009 remasters, where layers of grime seemed to be removed from familiar recordings, so the songs sounded vibrant and alive, yet didn't sound tweaked, buttressed, or burnished for a new millennium. That is what makes The Complete Smiths essential: no surprises in terms of material, but the presentation is exquisite, sounding familiar and fresh, a stunning re-presentation of records that were teetering on the edge of over-familiarity. Guitars and vocals pop equally, the original mixes simply brightened, a task harder to achieve than it is to imagine, the music sounding part of its time yet easily transcending it. Far from a vulgar picture, this is what Smiths fans have been waiting years for. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 32 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Smiths

Product Info

  • UPC: 825646659074
  • Shipping Weight: 0.88/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 8 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)