Paul Westerberg Besterberg: Best of Paul Westerberg

Besterberg: Best of Paul Westerberg
20 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
Sale: $10.79
SUPER SAVINGS: $9.22 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.99
You Save: $2.77 (23% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  XJXW
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Clearance CDs with the ZHUS prefix may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released: May 17, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Rhino

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - p.129
3 stars out of 5 - "[T]he addition of three unreleased rarities makes this essential."


  • 1.Dyslexic Heart
  • 2.Knockin on Mine
  • 3.World Class Fad
  • 4.Runaway Wind
  • 5.Things
  • 6.Seein' Her
  • 7.Man Without Ties
  • 8.A Star Is Bored
  • 9.Stain Yer Blood
  • 10.Love Untold
  • 11.Once Around the Weekend - (Alternate Mix, previously unreleased)
  • 12.Angels Walk
  • 13.It's a Wonderful Lie
  • 14.Lookin' Out Forever
  • 15.Nowhere Man
  • 16.High Time
  • 17.Let the Bad Times Roll
  • 18.What a Day (For a Night)
  • 19.All That I Had - (previously unreleased)
  • 20.C'mon, C'mon, C'mon - (previously unreleased)

Product Description:

Includes 3 previously unreleased tracks.
Personnel: Paul Westerberg (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, slide guitar, melodica, piano, keyboards, drums, background vocals); Paul Westerberg (bass guitar); Brendan O'Brien (guitar, acoustic guitar, keyboards, bass guitar); Luther Covington (guitar); Rick Price (mandolin, bass guitar, background vocals); Don Was (acoustic bass, double bass); John Pierce , Keith Christopher (bass guitar); Henry Twiddle (drums); Elrod Puce (maracas, triangle, hand claps, background vocals); Charmony Brothers (background vocals); Suzie Katayama (cello, accordion); Benmont Tench (keyboards); Josh Freese, Michael Urbano (drums, percussion); Josh Kelly (drums, background vocals); Brian Macleod , Kenny Aronoff (drums); Matt Wallace (percussion, background vocals); Michael Bland (percussion).
Audio Remasterers: Daniel Hersch; Bill Inglot.
Photographers: Hayley Madden; Jim Steinfeldt; Frank Okenfels; Miranda Penn Turin; Kristin Callahan; Ron Pownall.
Destined to live in the shadow of his former band, the legendary Replacements, Minnesota singer/songwriter Paul Westerberg remained undaunted in embarking on his solo career in the early 1990s. While a number of initial Westerberg singles wouldn't have sounded out of place on the last few Replacements albums--most notably the pop-perfect "Dyslexic Heart" and the Stonesy "Knockin on Mine"--later efforts revealed a different approach. On the spare, emotive "It's a Wonderful Lie" and his aching rendition of the Beatles' "Nowhere Man," Westerberg dispenses with percussion entirely, while on "Let the Bad Times Roll" and "What a Day (For a Night)," he handles most instruments (including drums) himself, for a charmingly ramshackle effect. The cheekily named collection BESTERBERG features all of the aforementioned songs, along with a handful of non-album tracks. Fans will enjoy Westerberg's wry song commentary in the liner notes ("at this rate a hit song would embarrass me"), and newcomers will find an ideal starting point for exploring his underrated solo outings.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 20 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Paul Westerberg

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 51,333
  • UPC: 081227464622
  • Shipping Weight: 0.16/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)