R.E.M. Part Lies, Part Heart, Part Truth, Part Garbage: 1982-2011

Part Lies, Part Heart, Part Truth, Part Garbage:
31 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
Sale: $18.88
SUPER SAVINGS: $17.64 Limited Time Only
List Price: $20.98
You Save: $3.34 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  XJV2
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Warner Bros / WEA

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - p.102
"[T]hree new songs...and folky highlight 'We All Go Back to Where We Belong' suggests that Athens' finest had more sweet jangle left in 'em." -- Grade: B
Magnet - p.59
"It's a well-rounded and fitting end."
Uncut (magazine) - p.96
4 stars out of 5 -- "[T]racks from their latter days on the IRS label sparkle with eloquence and grandeur."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Gardening at Night
  • 2.Radio Free Europe
  • 3.Talk About the Passion
  • 4.Sitting Still
  • 5.So. Central Rain
  • 6.(Don't Go Back To) Rockville
  • 7.Driver 8
  • 8.Life and How to Live It
  • 9.Begin the Begin
  • 10.Fall on Me
  • 11.Finest Worksong
  • 12.It's the End of the World as We Know it (And I Feel Fine)
  • 13.The One I Love
  • 14.Stand
  • 15.Pop Song 89
  • 16.Get Up
  • 17.Orange Crush
  • 18.Losing My Religion
  • 19.Country Feedback
  • 20.Shiny Happy People
  • 21.The Sidewinder Sleeps Tonite

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Everybody Hurts
  • 2.Man on the Moon
  • 3.Nightswimming
  • 4.What's the Frequency, Kenneth?
  • 5.New Test Leper
  • 6.Electrolite
  • 7.At My Most Beautiful
  • 8.The Great Beyond
  • 9.Imitation of Life
  • 10.Bad Day
  • 11.Leaving New York
  • 12.Living Well Is the Best Revenge
  • 13.Supernatural Superserious
  • 14.Å¡berlin
  • 15.Oh My Heart
  • 16.Alligator_Aviator_Autopilot_Antimatter
  • 17.A Month of Saturdays
  • 18.We All Go Back to Where We Belong
  • 19.Hallelujah

Product Description:

Liner Note Authors: Bill Berry ; Michael Stipe ; Mike Mills ; Peter Buck .
Recording information: Armoury, Vancouver, BC; John Keane Studios, Athens, GA; Oceanway Studio, Hollywood, CA; Seney-Stovall Chapel, Athens, GA; Type Foundry, Portland, OR.
R.E.M. close out their Warner contract -- not to mention their entire career -- with the double-disc Part Lies Part Heart Part Truth Part Garbage, their first compilation to combine early recordings from their time at IRS with their major-label hits for Warner. It's misleading to look at these as merely two separate eras, as it more accurately breaks down into a three-act structure: the IRS years when R.E.M. were the kings of college rock; the stretch between 1988-1995 when they were international superstars; and then the slow decline of 1998-2011, the years after Bill Berry, the years when Peter Buck, Michael Stipe, and Mike Mills tried to redefine the group as a trio before finally realizing they'd said all they could say. Part Lies gives equal time to each act -- there are 13 songs from IRS, 14 from the golden years at Warner, 13 from the trio years (including a revival of the mid-'80s outtake "Bad Day," which feels like a slight stretch) -- an eminently fair move that tells the story while slightly obscuring the import of the tale. Inevitably, the jangle pop and murk of the '80s are downplayed -- "Can't Get There from Here," "Pretty Persuasion," "Feeling Gravity's Pull" are missing -- in favor of a heavy dose of new millennial material, including three songs from 2011's respectable Collapse into Now and three perfectly fine new songs, which means the last ten or so cuts are songs that fairweather fans of either the '80s or '90s just won't care much about or possibly even know. Nevertheless, this last act is shown in a good light -- the benefit of a comp is that it's totally possible, even welcome, to downplay dull lapses like Around the Sun -- and, when combined with well-chosen highlights from the band's powerful first two acts, adds up to a thorough narrative of R.E.M.'s entire career. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 31 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for R.E.M.

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 62,676
  • UPC: 093624953647
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)