'68 Comeback Mr. Downchild

Mr. Downchild
1 rating
Price: $8.98
List Price: $9.98
You Save: $1 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  D8DD
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: April 12, 1994
  • Label: Sympathy 4 The R.I.

Entertainment Reviews:

Alternative Press - 10/94, p.97
"...Grab a friend; if you don't got one, grab a beer and marvel at the guitar stylings and chiming perfect sounds..."


  • 1.Bo Diddley 1969
  • 2.Don't Judge Me Bad
  • 3.Richman, Richman
  • 4.Tobacco Road, Pt. 1
  • 5.Tobacco Road, Pt. 2
  • 6.Monk
  • 7.Mr. Downchild
  • 8.Otto Wood, The Bandit
  • 9.Slop Jar Blues
  • 10.The String You Wear
  • 11.Greenback Blues
  • 12.Bullmoose
  • 13.Boogie Woogie Country Girl
  • 14.Blame It on Time
  • 15.Ain't It Down

Product Description:

Recording information: Crosstown Recorders, Memphis, TN.
Photographer: Scott LIndgren.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Darin Lin Wood; Dan Brown; Ross Johnson.
The spine may simply read 68 Comeback, but the cover of their full-length debut is actually attributed to Monsieur Jeffrey Evans & the 68 Comeback, making it clear who really conducts this rockin' freight train of a band. Plus, only one song, the shambling "Tobacco Road, Part 2," is credited to the entire group. The rest of the compositions are mostly either covers or Evans originals. Not that anyone's complaining -- Evans (the Gibson Bros., the Workdogs) is a legend in his own time. For this effort, the Memphis-based outfit also included Jack Taylor (the Gibson Bros.), Darin Lin Wood (the Black Snakes), Ross Johnson (Tav Falco's Panther Burns), and Dan Brown (Royal Trux). Mr. Downchild is a solid beginning -- or "comeback" -- for Evans in his new incarnation. If not quite spectacular, it holds up well to repeated spins, with the swampy "Bo Diddley 1969," the feedback-drenched "Richman, Richman," and the slide guitar-saturated lament "Greenback Blues" shining brightest. ~ Kathleen C. Fennessy

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 790276027725
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)