Inspecter 7 The Infamous

The Infamous
1 rating
Price: $14.38
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  36K6S
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: September 9, 1997
  • Originally Released: 1997
  • Label: Radical Records


  • 1.The Infamous
  • 2.Regret
  • 3.Sharky 17
  • 4.Brother Vs. Brother
  • 5.Spy Front
  • 6.Hub City Stompers
  • 7.Cookin'
  • 8.Channel 7
  • 9.Agent 86
  • 10.Big Slices
  • 11.Popeye
  • 12.Sleeping With the Enemy
  • 13.See Ya
  • 14.Melodie d'Amour
  • 15.The Shape

Product Description:

Inspecter 7: Giuseppe Mancini, T. Dog The Sinister Minister (vocals); Tim Predator Boyce (guitar); Imran (alto sax); The Skooch (tenor saxophone); Tedford (trombone); The Lovely Miss Stephanie (keyboards); 3-Toed Skat (bass); Jay Boxcar (drums).
Recorded at Sorcerer Sound, New York City, New York.
Personnel: T. Dog The Sinnister Minister (vocals); Skooch (tenor saxophone); Tedford (trombone); Lovely Miss Stephanie (keyboards); Jay Boxcar (drums).
Audio Mixer: Thom Panunzio.
Recording information: Sorcerer Sounds, New York, NY.
Photographer: Dale Rio.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Jay Boxcar; Skooch; Tedford; Lovely Miss Stephanie; 3 Toed Skat; T. Dog The Sinnister Minister.
Like virtually all the third wave ska bands, Two Tone may have provided Inspecter 7's initial impetus, but the band had already moved far beyond the British movement's own refracted take on ska. And while the vocals owe much to the Two Toners, the brass section is taking its cues from the originators, the Skatalites themselves. Unlike that legendary Jamaican group, however, individual Inspecters don't vie for listener's attentions, preferring to arrange their songs so each horn player has the opportunity to shine, with the set's short, sharp numbers boasting wonderfully smooth trade-offs between soloists. Now and then, though, the brass is done in by the rhythm section, which sets a pace so frenetic that it's impossible for the horns to keep up, notably on the instrumental "Agent 86." However, that track aside, the Inspecters are marvelously clean and tight. But what truly sets the group apart are the unexpected elements they throw into their fast-paced jazzy mix, not least of all keyboards that love to careen Madness fashion across the more frenetic numbers, a checkerboard sound further solidified by razor-sharp riffing. However, guitarist Tim Predator Boyce also offers up some superbly surfy guitar leads … la Ernest Ranglin, most spectacularly on the instrumentals "Spy Front" and "Cookin'," and the shift between his solos and the jazz-fired brass passages is irresistible and particularly unique. High-energy songs, superb musicianship, excellent arrangements, and enthusiastic vocals bring three continents colliding, and the resultant tsunami is third wave at its best. ~ Jo-Ann Greene

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 766627001720
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)