Barracudas Drop Out With the Barracudas [Bonus Tracks]

Drop Out With the Barracudas [Bonus Tracks]
3 ratings
Price: $10.78
List Price: $12.98
You Save: $2.20 (17% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  FXQ3
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: May 3, 2005
  • Label: Caroline

Entertainment Reviews:

Record Collector (magazine) - p.74
"[A] marvel of 60s influences, pastiching mid-60s garage punk, '67-era psychedelic surf music and the Brill Building sound with aplomb."


  • 1.I Can't Pretend
  • 2.Were Living In Violent Times
  • 3.Don't Let Go
  • 4.Codeine
  • 5.This Ain't My Time
  • 6.I Saw My Death In A Dream Last Night
  • 7.Somewhere Outside
  • 8.Summer Fun
  • 9.His Last Summer
  • 10.Somebody
  • 11.Campus Tramp
  • 12.On The Strip
  • 13.California Lament
  • 14.I Wish It Could Be 1965 Again
  • 15.Chevy Baby
  • 16.Barracuda Waver
  • 17.Sufers Are Back !
  • 18.Rendezvous
  • 19.K. G. B.)
  • 20.Ballad Of Liar
  • 21.Gotta Get A Gun
  • 22.Grammar Of Misery
  • 23.I Can't Sleep
  • 24.On A Sunday
  • 25.Shades Of Today
  • 26.Summer Fun

Product Description:

The Barracudas: Jeremy Gluck (vocals); Robin Wills (guitar, background vocals); David Bucley (bass, background vocals); Nicky Turner (drums, background vocals).
Producers include: Pat Moran, John David, Kenny Laguna, The Barracudas.
Thematically, the Barracudas pushed hard a Southern California surf-rock image on their debut -- there's the cover photo, for one, and then there's a good chunk of the songs. Titles like the demi-hit singles "Summer Fun," "California Lament," "On the Strip," and "Surfers Are Back" are self-explanatory, while the deliciously campy "His Last Summer," detailing one dude's final big wave with Brit-accented asides, has got to win an award for being one of rock's best fake-tragedy stories. However, the Barracudas were more accurately a sharp balance between the harder-edge of new wave power pop and a freewheeling, mid-1960s L.A. revivalism. Rather than peeling off Dick Dale or Ventures-style riffs, or even trying much for the Beach Boys' early sound, the foursome combined some surf-tinged work with the Byrds' ringing exuberance, Love's more frazzled early garage stomps, and the kind of punk collected on Nuggets. When it all works, it rises from mere tribute status to being its own groovy kick, often resembling a more specifically '60-fixated version of the Church. Everything is original on Drop Out, though sources of inspiration aren't far off at any turn, however reused and remade. "Codeine" has a more epic swoop and cautionary feel than the Sonics gave to "Strychnine," and "I Saw My Death in a Dream Last Night" isn't quite the Electric Prunes, but the same sort of not-quite-borrowing crops up song for song, and not too badly at that. Some songs, such as "I Can't Pretend" and "This Ain't My Time," have just enough of a crisp kick to remind you that they were recorded in 1980 rather than 15 years earlier. Generally speaking, though, one song title sums up the entire fun spirit of Drop Out: "I Wish It Could Be 1965 Again." Voxx's 1994 reissue includes five demos, including the previously unreleased "Chevy Babe," "You Were on My Mind," and "Surfer Joe." ~ Ned Raggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.7
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Barracudas

Product Info

  • UPC: 724387578524
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)