DeBarge Time Will Reveal: The Complete Motown Albums (3-CD)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Time Will Reveal: The Complete Motown Albums
14% OFF
Rating 4.7
6 ratings
List Price: $39.98
SALE PRICE: $34.23
You Save: $5.75 (14% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (3 Discs)
Item:  HPOS 76731

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: September 20, 2011
  • Label: Hip-O Select

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.What's Your Name
  • 2.Dance the Night Away
  • 3.You're So Gentle, So Kind
  • 4.Queen of My Heart
  • 5.Hesitated
  • 6.Saving Up (All My Love)
  • 7.Share My World
  • 8.Strange Romance
  • 9.I'll Never Fall In Love Again
  • 10.Stop! Don't Tease Me
  • 11.I Like It
  • 12.Can't Stop
  • 13.All This Love
  • 14.It's Getting Stronger
  • 15.Life Begins With You
  • 16.I'm In Love With You

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Be My Lady
  • 2.Stay With Me
  • 3.Time Will Reveal [Long Version]
  • 4.Need Somebody
  • 5.Love Me In a Special Way
  • 6.Baby, Won't Cha Come Quick
  • 7.I Give Up On You
  • 8.A Dream
  • 9.Prime Time
  • 10.The Heart is Not So Smart
  • 11.Who's Holding Donna Now?
  • 12.Give It Up
  • 13.Single Heart
  • 14.You Wear It Well
  • 15.The Walls (Came Tumbling Down)
  • 16.Share My World
  • 17.Rhythm of the Night

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Rhythm of the Night [Long Version]
  • 2.You Wear It Well [M&M Club Mix]
  • 3.You Wear It Well [M&M Dub Mix]
  • 4.The Heart is Not So Smart [M&M Club Mix]
  • 5.The Heart is Not So Smart [M&M Dub Mix]
  • 6.All This Love [Alternate Version]
  • 7.Love Me In a Special Way [Instrumental]
  • 8.Stay With Me [Instrumental]
  • 9.A Dream [Instrumental]
  • 10.Be My Lady [Instrumental]

Product Description:

Personnel: DeBarge (background vocals); Mark DeBarge (vocals, saxophone, trumpet, percussion); Eldra DeBarge (vocals, Fender Rhodes piano, keyboards); James DeBarge (vocals, keyboards); Randy DeBarge, Bunny DeBarge (vocals); Curtis A. Nolen, Paul Milton Jackson Jr., Robben Ford, Charles Fearing (guitars); Gerald Albright (flute, tenor saxophone); Jeff Clayton (flute, baritone saxophone); Daniel LeMelle (alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Damon Rentie (tenor saxophone); Noran Smith Jr., Raymond Brown (trumpet, flugelhorn); Cliff Ervin, Roy Poper (trumpet); George Bohanon, Clarence Lawrey, John Ervin (trombone); Larry Von Nash, Raymond A. Crossley, Reggie Andrews, Russell Ferrante, Bobby DeBarge (keyboards); Harvey Mason, Sr. , Harvey Mason, Jr. , Leon "Ndugu" Chancler, Ollie E. Brown, Ricky Lawson (drums); Nathan Hughes, Paulinho Da Costa, Richard Heath (percussion); Jim Gilstrap, The DeBarges, Bunny Hull (background vocals).
Audio Mixer: Barney Perkins.
Liner Note Author: Gail Mitchell.
Recording information: Artisan Sound Recorders, Inc., Hollywood, CA; Garden Rake, Studio City, CA; Hollywood Sound Recorders, Hollywood, CA; Kendun Recorders, Burbank, CA; Larrabee Sound Studios, Hollywood, CA; Motown/Hitsville U.S.A. Recording Studios, Hollywood, C; Studio 55, Los Angeles, CA; the Record Plant, Hollywood, CA; Westlake Audio, West Hollywood, CA; Yamaha Research & Development Studio, Burbank, CA.
Photographers: Raul Vega; Matthew Rolston; Ron Slenzak; Bobby Holland .
From late 1982 through 1985, DeBarge were a regular presence on the singles charts. They also placed three albums in the Top Five of the R&B chart -- all of which crossed into the Top 40 of the Billboard 200. While the siblings have been the subject of a few hits compilations, their catalog was otherwise neglected for decades, until Hip-O Select released this thorough anthology. Discs one and two of Time Will Reveal: The Complete Motown Albums contain the four DeBarge albums: The DeBarges (the undervalued if somewhat tepid debut), All This Love (the 1982 breakthrough featuring "I Like It" and the title track), In a Special Way (one of the finest albums of the early '80s), and Rhythm of the Night (the heavily synthesized patchwork finale). Disc three collects 12" mixes, a flowery and inferior alternate mix of "All This Love," and four instrumental versions. What gets lost in the DeBarge family drama and image -- the glamorous clothes, elaborate hairstyles, and suspect facial hair -- is that they wrote, produced, and arranged the majority of their material and all of their best work. Their several hits, along with album cuts like "Strange Romance," "Stay with Me," and "A Dream," are among the most heavenly, impeccably constructed pop-R&B music of any era. Odds are good that 2Pac, the Notorious B.I.G., Blackstreet, and Ashanti didn't feel guilty about making hits with DeBarge-sampling records. Therefore, no listener should ever feel guilty about deriving pleasure from the source. ~ Andy Kellman

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.7
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for DeBarge

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 67,646
  • UPC: 602527767314
  • Shipping Weight: 0.40/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

Top ranking CD: