Faron Young The Classic Years 1952-62 (5-CD Box Set)

The Classic Years 1952-62 (5-CD Box Set)
6 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (5 Discs)
sku:  3A866
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 5
  • Released: June 15, 1994
  • Label: Bear Family

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.They Made Me Fall in Love With You If You Ain't Lovin' (You Ain't Livin')
  • 2.I've Got Five Dollars and It's Saturday
  • 3.A Place For Girls Like You
  • 4.I Can't Tell My Heart
  • 5.In the Chapel in the Moonlight
  • 6.If That's the Fashion
  • 7.Forgive Me, Dear
  • 8.Just Married
  • 9.Baby My Heart
  • 10.What's the Use to Love You
  • 11.That's What I'd For You
  • 12.I'm Gonna Tell Santa Claus on You
  • 13.You're the Angel on My Christmas Tree
  • 14.I Hardly Knew It Was You
  • 15.That's What It's Like to Be Lonesome
  • 16.You're Right (But I Wish You Were Wrong)
  • 17.Down Lover's Lane Alone
  • 18.I'm So in Love With You
  • 19.Just Married
  • 20.Goin' Steady
  • 21.Just Out of Reach
  • 22.I Can't Wait (For the Sun to Go Down)
  • 23.Have I Waited Too Long
  • 24.Tattle Tale Tears
  • 25.What Can I Do With My Sorrow
  • 26.The Good Lord Must Have Sent You
  • 27.I Knew You When
  • 28.Saving My Tears For Tomorrow
  • 29.Foolish Pride

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Live Fast, Love Hard, Die Young Go Back, You Fool
  • 2.All Right
  • 3.For the Love of a Woman Like You
  • 4.It's a Great Life
  • 5.Better Things Than These
  • 6.I've Got Five Dollars and It's Saturday Night
  • 7.Turn Her Down
  • 8.You're Still Mine
  • 9.Sweet Dreams
  • 10.Until I Met You
  • 11.I'm Gonna Live Some Before I Die
  • 12.Candy Kisses
  • 13.Have I Told You Lately That I Love You
  • 14.I'll Be Satisfied With Love
  • 15.I Can't Help It
  • 16.Your Cheatin' Heart
  • 17.I'll Be Yours
  • 18.Sweethearts or Strangers
  • 19.Shame on You
  • 20.Worried Mind
  • 21.I Miss You Already
  • 22.I'm a Poor Boy
  • 23.You Call Everybody Darlin'
  • 24.You Are My Sunshine
  • 25.I'm Gonna Live Some Before I Die
  • 26.Moonlight Mountain
  • 27.Anything Your Heart Desires
  • 28.Vacation's Over
  • 29.The Shrine of St. Cecilia
  • 30.Love Has Finally Come My Way
  • 31.The Face of Love

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.That's the Way It's Gotta Be We're Talking It Over
  • 2.I Made a Fool of Myself
  • 3.I'll Be All Right
  • 4.You Old Used to Be
  • 5.I'll Be All Right
  • 6.Out of My Heart
  • 7.Everytime I'm Kissing You
  • 8.Alone With You
  • 9.That's the Way I Feel
  • 10.I Hate Myself
  • 11.Last Night at the Party
  • 12.A Long Time Ago
  • 13.Hey Good Lookin'
  • 14.Tennessee Waltz
  • 15.Let Old Mother Nature Have Her Way
  • 16.Making Believe
  • 17.Almost
  • 18.Mom and Dad's Waltz
  • 19.Don't Let the Stars Get in Your Eyes
  • 20.Bouquet of Roses
  • 21.Slowly
  • 22.Bimbo
  • 23.Chattanooga Shoe Shine Boy
  • 24.I Don't Hurt Anymore
  • 25.I'll Go on Alone
  • 26.Honey Stop!
  • 27.The Locket
  • 28.Snowball
  • 29.When It Rains It Pours
  • 30.Rosalie (Is Gonna Get Married)
  • 31.I Can't Dance
  • 32.Once in a While

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Riverboat Country Girl
  • 2.Face to the Wall
  • 3.There's Not Any Like You Left
  • 4.Forget the Past
  • 5.A World So Full of Love
  • 6.Hello Walls
  • 7.Is She All You Thought She'd Be
  • 8.Congratulations
  • 9.Three Days
  • 10.Safely in Love Again
  • 11.Down by the River
  • 12.The Part Where I Cry
  • 13.I Hear You Talkin'
  • 14.Big Shoes
  • 15.Believing It Yourself
  • 16.The Comeback
  • 17.Overlonely and Underkissed
  • 18.Three Days
  • 19.A Lifetime Isn't Enough
  • 20.I Can't Find the Time
  • 21.Trail of Tears
  • 22.I Let It Slip Away
  • 23.Let's Pretend We're Lovers Again
  • 24.Backtrack
  • 25.How Can I Forget You
  • 26.I Can't Find the Time

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.I'll Fly Away Mansion Over the Hilltop
  • 2.He Was There
  • 3.How Long Has It Been
  • 4.Beautiful Garden of Prayer
  • 5.My Home Sweet Home
  • 6.Suppertime
  • 7.May the Good Lord Bless and Keep You
  • 8.What Can He Do
  • 9.He Knows Just What I Need
  • 10.When I've Learned Enough to Live
  • 11.Now I Belong to Jesus
  • 12.I Won't Have to Cross Jordan Alone
  • 13.Traveling On
  • 14.My Wonderful Lord
  • 15.I Know Who Holds Tomorrow
  • 16.Where Could I Go But to the Lord
  • 17.God Bless God
  • 18.Don't Take Your Love From Me
  • 19.If I Had You
  • 20.Stay as Sweet as You Are
  • 21.My Darling, My Darling
  • 22.Who Wouldn't Love You
  • 23.I Can't Believe That You're in Love With Me
  • 24.The Object of My Affection
  • 25.It All Depends on You
  • 26.Thank You For a Lovely Evening
  • 27.Everything I Have Is Yours
  • 28.The Nearness of You
  • 29.Sweet and Lovely

Product Description:

This box set includes a 40-page booklet with notes by Colin Escott and rare photos.
Country crooner Faron Young was one of the biggest names in Nashville in the late '50s and early '60s, laying down countless classic tracks for Capitol Records. Enormously influential in his heyday, he straddled the line between pure honky tonk and smooth countrypolitan stylings, but exuded pure class 100 percent of the time. Young's later life was plagued by alcoholism and personal problems, and he eventually killed himself, but unlike other tragic country figures his legend diminished after his death. Decades down the road, with his Capitol treasure trove criminally under-represented, the country archivist label Bear Family answered fans' prayers with this exhaustive five-disc document of Young's early work.
The two sides of Young's musical personality are displayed in all their glory here. The smooth balladeer who made Willie Nelson's "Hello Walls" a pop crossover hit, and the hellbent honky-tonker howling out a debt to Hank Williams on "Your Cheatin' Heart" could not have existed without each other, and that dichotomy is played out in a comprehensive and intriguing way throughout THE CLASSIC YEARS.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Faron Young

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 120,426
  • UPC: 790051154936
  • Shipping Weight: 2.39/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)