Irene Kral You Are There

You Are There
19% OFF
Rating 5.0
2 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 1 copy left
List Price: $15.98
Sale Price: $14.38
CYBER SALE: $12.94 Limited Time Only
You Save: $3.04 (19% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  AUD 299
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
We cannot guarantee delivery in time for Christmas
But it's not too late for a Gift Card or an e-mail Gift Certificate

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: December 7, 1999
  • Label: Audiophile


  • 1.Watch What Happens
  • 2.If Love Were All
  • 3.Emily
  • 4.Wheelers and Dealers
  • 5.What Are You Doing the Rest of Your Life?
  • 6.Mad About the Boy
  • 7.The Underdog
  • 8.You Were There
  • 9.A Child Is Born
  • 10.The Shadow of Your Smile
  • 11.A Time for Love
  • 12.The Winds of Heaven
  • 13.I'll Follow My Secret Heart / Someday I'll Find You / I'll See You Again
  • 14.Small Day Tomorrow
  • 15.Pieces of Dreams (Little Boy Lost)
  • 16.Unlit Room
  • 17.Summer Me, Winter Me
  • 18.Love Came on Stealthy Fingers
  • 19.A Room With a View
  • 20.Nothing Like You (An Extravagant Love Song)
  • 21.You Are There
  • 22.I Like It Here (And This Is Where I'll Stay)

Product Description:

Personnel: Irene Kral (vocals); Loonis McGlohon (piano); Terry Lassiter (bass); Jim Lackey (drums).
Recorded in 1976 and 1977.
Personnel: Irene Kral (vocals); Loonis McGlohon (piano).
Liner Note Author: James Gavin.
Recording information: 1977.
Editor: Parker Dinkins.
Arranger: Loonis McGlohon.
Irene Kral belongs to a group of singers under recorded by the music industry and unknown by too many jazz followers. But like other members of this group, she is valued by musicians and by a small, dedicated clutch of fans. Others falling into this category include Sue Raney, Blossom Dearie, and Dave Frishberg. Sometimes dubbed cult singers, their enormous skills are not given the recognition they deserve. Kral recorded this album in South Carolina, a little more than a year before she succumbed to cancer in 1978. Never flashy, Kral takes what each song gives her with little embellishment. There are no swoops, sweeps, grunts, or other assorted, irrelevant noises. But one has to listen closely to her subtle ways, a bit more behind the beat here, a little more hesitation there, a slight inflection somewhere else, all designed to make each delivery special. Here there are a few of the 22 selections that don't offer much and make it difficult even for a consummate storyteller like Kral to make a lot of them. But, for the most part, there are precious gems to be savored and enjoyed. "A Child Is Born," a poignant and perhaps prescient "Summer Me, Winter Me" and "You Were There" are a few. She reprises some songs she had recorded earlier in her career, "A Time for Love" and "Small Day Tomorrow," dressing them slightly different from the earlier versions. The sympathetic pianism of Loonis McGlohon graces this session. This pianist has accompanied several members of the "cult" Kral belongs, to such as Mabel Mercer, Johnny Hartman, and Teddi King, to cite a few. Despite its recording location, the sound is excellent. You Are There is a legacy of a singer who deserves far more than cult status. ~ Dave Nathan

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Irene Kral

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 100,761
  • UPC: 762247229926
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Vocals genre: