Echoes of Tom Anderson's: The New Orleans String Jazz (2-CD)

Echoes of Tom Anderson's: The New Orleans String
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Sale: $28.78
SUPER SAVINGS: $26.26 Limited Time Only
List Price: $31.98
You Save: $5.72 (18% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  XQ3S
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: American Music Rec.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Tiger Rag
  • 2.Clarinet Marmalade
  • 3.High Society (Introducing Maryland, Maryland)
  • 4.Tico Tico
  • 5.That Old Gang of Mine
  • 6.Winter Night / Stumbling
  • 7.Who's Sorry Now
  • 8.Clarinet Marmalade
  • 9.Dixieland One Step
  • 10.Jealous
  • 11.Muskrat Ramble
  • 12.Tico Tico
  • 13.Floating Down That Old Green River
  • 14.Bei Mir Bist du Schon
  • 15.Sunrise Serenade
  • 16.Medley in D
  • 17.My Josephine
  • 18.High Society (Introducing Maryland, Maryland)
  • 19.Medley
  • 20.Donna Clara
  • 21.Floatind Down That Old Green River
  • 22.Raggin' the Scale
  • 23.At Sundown
  • 24.When the Saints Go Marching In
  • 25.A Handful of Cards
  • 26.Gettysburg March
  • 27.Lover Come Back to Me
  • 28.A Rag
  • 29.Liebenstraum

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.That Old Gang of Mine
  • 2.Floating Down That Old Green River
  • 3.High Society
  • 4.Who's Sorry Now
  • 5.Tiger Rag
  • 6.Tico Tico
  • 7.Up a Lazy River
  • 8.Donna Clara
  • 9.When the Saints
  • 10.Ukelele Marmalade
  • 11.Dixieland One Step
  • 12.Tea For Two
  • 13.At the Storybook Ball
  • 14.Opus 4
  • 15.Little Coquette
  • 16.I'm Nobody's Baby
  • 17.Bill Bailey (Bazooka With Words)
  • 18.High Society
  • 19.I Had a Dream Dear
  • 20.Ida
  • 21.Who's Sorry Now
  • 22.Walkin' the Dog (Bazooka With Words)
  • 23.That Old Gang of Mine
  • 24.Little Croquette
  • 25.Little Rock Getaway
  • 26.West End Romp
  • 27.That's a Plenty

Product Description:

A double CD compilation of The 6 & 7/8's String Band, who originally started playing together in 1911, containing 56 utterly unique tracks of Crescent City string-band jazz. An unusual four-piece: upright bass and flat-top guitar rhythm section with hot mandolin and lap-style Hawaiian slide guitar playing melody and jazz choruses.

The two discs contain all the sides from their Folkways LP and more: some 78s from 1949, an acoustic guitar session by Frank Amacker from 1958, a full band 1950 radio broadcast from the New Orleans Opera Auditions On The Air, 1955 recordings by guitarist Souchon with uke player Charlie Hardy, and more!

There's no one else quite like The 6 & 7/8's String Band, and this set does well in offering a rare glimpse into a bygone era.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 32,699
  • UPC: 762247112624
  • Shipping Weight: 0.36/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)