The Box Tops Dimensions

2 ratings
Price: $12.58
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  JR8E
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: February 14, 2000
  • Label: Sundazed Music Inc.

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 5/00, p.124
3 stars out of 5 - "...Expertly drilled white Southern soul....definite proof there was plenty of life before Big Star."
No Depression - 7-8/00, p.97
"...One can hear how [they] represented a significant step forward in Southern music....soul songster Dan Penn showing great versatility as both a writer and a producer..."


  • 1.Soul Deep
  • 2.I Shall Be Released
  • 3.Midnight Angel
  • 4.Together
  • 5.I'll Hold Out My Hand
  • 6.I Must Be the Devil
  • 7.Sweet Cream Ladies, Forward March
  • 8.The Happy Song
  • 9.Ain't No Way
  • 10.Rock Me Baby
  • 11.King's Highway
  • 12.Soul Deep - (mono, Single Version)
  • 13.Sweet Cream Ladies, Forward March - (mono, Single Version)
  • 14.I See Only Sunshine
  • 15.Lay Your Shine on Me - (previously unreleased)

Product Description:

The Box Tops: Alex Chilton (vocals); Gary Talley (guitar); Rick Allen (keyboards); Bill Cunningham (bass); Tom Boggs (drums).
Recorded at American Recording Studios, Memphis, Tennessee in September 1969. Includes liner notes by Jud Cost.
Digitally remastered by Bob Irwin (Sundazed Studios, Coxsackie, New York).
Personnel: Alex Chilton (vocals, guitar); Gary Talley (guitar); Rick Allen (keyboards); Tom Boggs (drums).
Liner Note Author: Jud Cost.
Recording information: American Group Studios, Inc.
There were mild signs of artistic progression and evolution on the Box Tops' final album. For the first time, Dan Penn was not involved in the record (as either producer or songwriter), and Alex Chilton was allowed no less than three original compositions. A couple of these clearly hinted at an original songwriting voice. "I Must Be the Devil" was a wrenching, grind-it-out blues/soul ballad worthy of the mid-'60s Animals, and "(The) Happy Song" was an uncharacteristic (for the Box Tops) wistful Dylanesque tune (Dylan's "I Shall Be Released" was covered elsewhere on the LP). Closing the record was a pointless, nine-minute "Rock Me Baby," which the group had already recorded (in a much shorter version) on Nonstop. The rest of the album consisted mostly of the journeyman soul-pop that people had come to expect from Box Tops long-players, though "Soul Deep" (by the composer of "The Letter," Wayne Carson Thompson) gave the group their last big hit. The 2000 Sundazed reissue has five bonus tracks, including the mono single versions of "Soul Deep" and "Sweet Cream Ladies, Forward March," as well as two non-LP cuts from 45s, "King's Highway" and the Chilton-penned "I See Only Sunshine." There's also a previously unissued cut, "Lay Your Shine on Me." ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.5
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Box Tops

Product Info

  • UPC: 090771616128
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)