The Dells The Best of the Vee-Jay Years (Rare and Out-of-Print)

The Best of the Vee-Jay Years (Rare and
10% OFF
Rating 4.4
4 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown

Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  SHFA 31064
on most orders of $75+
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Released: September 25, 2007
  • Label: Shout Factory


  • 1.Tell The World
  • 2.Dreams Of Contentment
  • 3.Zing Zing Zing
  • 4.Oh What A Night
  • 5.Jo-Jo
  • 6.Movin' On
  • 7.I Wanna Go Home
  • 8.Why Do You Have To Go?
  • 9.Pain In My Heart
  • 10.Time Makes You Change
  • 11.Jeepers Creepers
  • 12.My Best Girl
  • 13.Dry Your Eyes
  • 14.Baby Open Up Your Heart
  • 15.Lil' Darlin'
  • 16.Stay In My Corner
  • 17.It's Not Unusual

Product Description:

Audio Remasterer: Randy Perry .
Liner Note Author: Billy Vera.
Photographer: Billy Vera.
The Dells were prime movers in Chicago R&B in the 1950s and '60s, helping to navigate the transition vocal harmony groups would make from doo-wop stylings to a more bluesy, soul-based sound. That journey is captured on BEST OF THE VEE-JAY YEARS, as some of the Dells' signature material was waxed for the legendary R&B label. It's fascinating to follow the progression from the streetcorner sound of their smash "Oh What a Nite" to such blues-flavored tracks as "Movin' On" and "I Wanna Go Home" to their soul-pop crossover cover of Tom Jones's "It's Not Unusual," recorded during their second tenure at the label. This is the sound of Chicago R&B getting its wings.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.4
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for The Dells

Product Info:

  • UPC: 826663106404
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item