The New Colony Six Treat Her Groovy

Treat Her Groovy
17 copies available
SUPER SAVINGS: $14.81 Limited Time Only
List Price: $16.99
You Save: $2.18 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  JASW
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: October 10, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: El Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - p.110
3 stars out of 5 -- "They were soft-rock, all about catchy melodies and sunshine harmonies."


  • 1.I Will Always Think About You
  • 2.Dandy Handy Man
  • 3.Girl Unsigned
  • 4.Treat Her Groovy
  • 5.Summertime's Another Name for Love
  • 6.Just Feel Worse
  • 7.Can't You See Me Cry
  • 8.We Will Love Again
  • 9.Things I'd Like to Say
  • 10.Hold Me with Your Eyes
  • 11.You Know Better
  • 12.Barbara, I Love You
  • 13.Free
  • 14.Love, That's the Best I Can Do
  • 15.Come and Give Your Love to Me
  • 16.I Could Never Lie to You
  • 17.Ride the Wicked Wind
  • 18.I Want You to Know
  • 19.Sun Within You
  • 20.Blue Eyes
  • 21.Come Away with You
  • 22.Prairie Grey

Product Description:

TREAT HER GROOVY collects 22 tracks by the 1960s Chicago-based rock band.
Recording information: Ter Mar Studios, Chicago, IL (1968-1969).
Photographer: Jerry Schollenberger.
Arrangers: Edward Higgins; Charlie Jobes.
Though it's not obvious from the cover, this 22-track CD compilation is basically a reissue of the New Colony Six's third and fourth LPs (1968's Revelations and 1969's Attacking a Straw Man), presenting the albums one after the other with their original track sequences. This was the era in which the Chicago band, which started off with a rawer garage pop sound, softened its approach considerably and found some modest national commercial success. Those who swear by the group's earlier work (particularly the excellent 1966 debut, Breakthrough) are likely to be disappointed by the far more mainstream harmony pop/rock of these records, though on the other hand, fans of groups like the Association might favor this era more than the previous one. Including the hits "I Will Always Think About You," "Can't You See Me Cry," "Things I'd Like to Say," "I Want You to Know," "Barbara, I Love You," and "I Could Never Lie to You," it's on the mild and indistinctive side of the style, sometimes incorporating light orchestration and brass, and making an unlikely venture into country on "Just Feel Worse." On Revelations, there's perhaps a slightly brasher, less slickly produced feel than numerous somewhat similar California sunshine pop acts had, as well as a greater British Invasion influence, though the baroque touches common to much late-'60s baroque rock are present. The British rock elements recede and jazzier ones (especially "Ride the Wicked Wind") rise more to the fore on the more middle-of-the-road Attacking a Straw Man, concluding with the maudlin recitation "Prairie Grey." ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for The New Colony Six

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 25,487
  • UPC: 5013929305120
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)