Blue Rider Trio Early Morning Blues - The Complete Blue Rider Trio Sessions (2-CD)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 3.0
3 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 1 copy left
List Price: $22.98
Your Price: $20.68
You Save: $2.30 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  MPL 12132

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: September 4, 2007
  • Label: Mapleshade Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Preachin The Blues
  • 2.Stomp Down Rider
  • 3.Gallows Pole
  • 4.Old Blue Goose
  • 5.Early Morning Blues
  • 6.Cincinnati Rag
  • 7.Payday
  • 8.Walkin Blues
  • 9.Georgia Rag
  • 10.Freight Train Boogie
  • 11.Statesboro Blues
  • 12.She Don't Do Me Wrong

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Salty Dog Blues
  • 2.Easy Rider
  • 3.Last Fair Deal Goin' Down
  • 4.Death (Don't) Have No Mercy
  • 5.Ride Till I Die
  • 6.Make Me Down A Pallet
  • 7.Black Betty
  • 8.Stackolee
  • 9.Kokomo Blues
  • 10.Silver City Bound
  • 11.Long Tall Mama
  • 12.C.C. Rider
  • 13.Diddie Wah Diddie

Product Description:

The Blue Rider Trio: Jeff Sarli (acoustic bass); Mark Wenner, Ben Andrews.
Personnel: Ben Andrews (vocals, guitar); Mark Wenner (harmonica).
Additional personnel: Larry Willis (piano).
Liner Note Author: Pierre M. Sprey.
Recording information: Mapleshade studio (??/1988-01/2000).
Photographers: Sam Holden; Eldon Baldwin.
Early Morning Blues combines the Blue Rider Trio's two albums, 1991's Preachin' the Blues and 2000's Harp, Steel and Guts, in one package, essentially creating a complete recorded works set for this fervent but hardly innovative Maryland acoustic blues ensemble. Featuring Ben Andrews on vocals, acoustic guitar and National Steel guitar, Mark Wenner of the Nighthawks on harmonica, and Jeff Sarli of Big Joe & the Dynaflows on acoustic bass (with Larry Willis sitting in occasionally on piano), the Blue Riders take their Delta, Piedmont, and Texas country blues roots very seriously, but unfortunately they add little to the tradition they try so hard to re-create. It's not that anything here is badly done (a slowed down version of Leadbelly's "Gallows Pole," a straight lift of Mississippi John Hurt's "Stackolee," and an approximation of Rev. Gary Davis' "Death [Don't] Have No Mercy" are all more than admirable); it's just that these tracks were probably a whole lot more fun to perform than they are to listen to, no matter how well these three college white guys do the old blues guy routine. Still, if you need a Blue Rider Trio collection, everything they ever did is here. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.0
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Blue Rider Trio

Product Info:

  • UPC: 735561121320
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items