Alberta Hunter Downhearted Blues: Live at the Cookery

Downhearted Blues: Live at the Cookery
6 ratings
SUPER SAVINGS: $10.87 Limited Time Only
List Price: $12.99
You Save: $2.12 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  JJQS
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Rockbeat Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 2/02, p.124
4 stars out of 5 - "...Husky voiced Alberta Hunter qualified as a nurse at 62 and was in her 80s when she recorded this album..."
Down Beat - p.93
3.5 stars out of 5 -- "Hunter uses simple artistry and a room full of charm to seduce the NYC audience on one of her fabulous nights at the Cookery jazz club in 1981."
Living Blues - p.71
"DOWNHEARTED BLUES stands as both an important moment in blues history and a beautiful artistic achievement. Alberta Hunter is truly a legend..."


  • Buy for $0.991.My Castle's Rockin'
  • Buy for $0.992.The Love I Have For You
  • Buy for $0.993.I Got Rhythm
  • Buy for $0.994.Downhearted Blues
  • Buy for $0.995.Time Waits For No One
  • Buy for $0.996.I'm Havin' A Good Time
  • Buy for $0.997.Two-Fisted Double-Jointed Rough And Ready Man
  • Buy for $0.998.The Darktown Strutter's Ball
  • Buy for $0.999.Sometimes I'm Happy
  • Buy for $0.9910.I've Got A Mind To Ramble
  • Buy for $0.9911.Old Fashioned Love
  • Buy for $0.9912.You Can't Tell The Difference After Dark
  • Buy for $0.9913.Remember My Name
  • Buy for $0.9914.When You're Smiling (The Whole World Smiles With You)
  • Buy for $0.9915.Georgia On My Mind
  • Buy for $0.9916.Handy Man
  • Buy for $0.9917.Never Knew My Kisses
  • Buy for $0.9918.You're Welcome To Come Back Home

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Alberta Hunter (vocals); Gerald Cook (piano); Jimmy Lewis (bass).
Producers: Cary E. Mansfield, Stuart A. Goldman.
Recorded at The Cookery, New York, New York in 1981. Includes liner notes by Bill Dahl.
Digitally remastered by Evren Goknar and Marty Wekser (Capitol Mastering, Los Angeles, California).
Personnel: Gerald Cook (piano).
Recording information: Cookery (12/1981).

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Alberta Hunter

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 62,559
  • UPC: 089353302429
  • Shipping Weight: 0.19/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)