Joan Baez Noel (Remastered Edition with Bonus Tracks)

Noel (Remastered Edition with Bonus Tracks)
10% OFF
Rating 4.6
34 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown

Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  VAN 79596
on most orders of $75
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Vanguard Records


  • 1.O Come, O Come Emmanuel
  • 2.Coventry Carol
  • 3.Good King Wenceslas - (TRUE instrumental)
  • 4.The Little Drummer Boy
  • 5.I Wonder as I Wander
  • 6.Bring a Torch, Jeannette, Isabella - (TRUE instrumental)
  • 7.Down in Yon Forrest
  • 8.The Carol of the Birds
  • 9.Angels We Have Heard on High - (TRUE instrumental)
  • 10.Ave Maria (Sung in German) - (sung in German)
  • 11.Mary's Wandering
  • 12.Deck the Halls - (TRUE instrumental)
  • 13.Away in a Manger
  • 14.Adeste Fidelis - (TRUE instrumental)
  • 15.Cantique de No‰l (Oh Holy Night, Sung in German) - (sung in German)
  • 16.What Child Is This?
  • 17.Silent Night
  • 18.First No‰l, The - (previously unreleased)
  • 19.We Three Kings - (previously unreleased, TRUE instrumental)
  • 20.Virgin Mary - (previously unreleased)
  • 21.Good Christian Kings - (previously unreleased, TRUE instrumental)
  • 22.Burgundian Carol - (previously unreleased)
  • 23.Away in a Manger - (previously unreleased, French version)

Product Description:

The 2001 remastered edition of NOEL features 6 bonus tracks and new cover art as well as a replica of the original cover and liner notes.
Personnel: Joan Baez (vocals, guitar); Peter Schickele (arranger, conductor).
Producer: Maynard Solomon.
Reissue producer: Mark Spector.
Originally released on Vanguard (79230). Includes original liner notes by Joan Baez and reissue liner notes by Peter Schickele.
Digitally remastered by Jeff Zaraya.
This is part of Vanguard's Original Master series.
Personnel: Joan Baez (vocals, guitar).
Liner Note Authors: Joan Baez; Peter Schickele.
Photographer: Marshall Fallwell.
Unknown Contributor Role: Georgette Cartwright.
Arranger: Peter Schickele.
An unexpectedly delightful collection of traditional Christmas carols, 1966's NOEL is one of a handful of Joan Baez albums arranged and produced by Peter Schickele--better known as comedic classical performer P.D.Q. Bach--during the mid-'60s. Even more than 1968's baroquely-orchestrated BAPTISM, NOEL sounds more like a Peter Schickele album than a Joan Baez album. Nearly a third of the 17 tracks are instrumentals on which Baez doesn't even appear, and although her voice is front and center throughout, Schickele's arrangements largely use it as merely another instrument in his ornate arrangements. A German-sung version of "Ave Maria" and a delicate rendering of "Coventry Carol" are particularly beautiful.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 34 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Product Groupings:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Joan Baez

Product Info:

  • UPC: 015707959629
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD: