Mahalia Jackson The World's Greatest Gospel Singer

The World's Greatest Gospel Singer
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $9.90 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.99
You Save: $2.09 (17% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  Q44V
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: September 5, 2011
  • Label: Poll Winners

Description by

Mahalia Jackson's complete 1954 LP The World's Greatest Gospel Singer as well as her complete album Sunday at Newport Jazz Festival 1958, which has been included here as a bonus. The former consists of her debut LP for Columbia, while the latter presents the singer live at the celebrated venue with a program that repeats a number of the songs that were issued on the aforementioned studio album.


  • 1.I'm Coming To Live The Life I Sing About In My Song
  • 2.When I Wake Up In Glory
  • 3.Jesus Met The Woman At The Well
  • 4.Oh Lord is It I?
  • 5.I Will Move On Up A Little Higher
  • 6.When The Saints Go Marching In
  • 7.Jesus
  • 8.Out Of The Depths
  • 9.Walk Over God's Heaven
  • 10.Keep Your Hand On The Plow
  • 11.Didn't It Rain
  • 12.Introduction By Willis Conover
  • 13.An Evening Prayer
  • 14.A City Called Heaven
  • 15.I'm On My Way
  • 16.It Don't Cost Very Much
  • 17.Didn't It Rain
  • 18.He's Got The Whole World On His Hands
  • 19.When The Saints Go Marching In
  • 20.I'm Going To Live The Life I Sing About In My Song
  • 21.Keep Your Hand On The Plow
  • 22.The Lord's Prayer
  • 23.Walk Over Lord's Heaven
  • 24.Joshua Fir The Battle Of Jericho
  • 25.His Eye is On The Sparrow

Product Description:

One of Mahalia's early Columbia albums, this brings the singer together with the Fall-Jones Ensemble. Kicking off with the autobiographical "I'm Going to Live the Life I Sing About in My Song," the set also includes stirring renditions of "Jesus Met the Woman at the Well," "I Will Move on up a Little Higher," "Didn't It Rain," "Keep Your Hand on the Plow," "Walk Over God's Heaven," and even a spirited take on the old warhorse "When the Saints Go Marching In." One of her best. ~ Cub Koda

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Mahalia Jackson

Product Info

  • UPC: 8436028698639
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)