Ry Cooder Pull Up Some Dust and Sit Down

Pull Up Some Dust and Sit Down
29 ratings
Price: $17.08
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  9VD2
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: August 29, 2011
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Nonesuch

Entertainment Reviews:

Record Collector (magazine) - p.91
4 stars out of 5 -- "Cooder's deft grip on American vernacular music infuses what could be a pretty sombre journey with some dazzling jumps in style."
Uncut (magazine) - p.83
5 stars out of 5 -- "In the transition from imitator to originator, the old boy has made one of his best albums ever."
Uncut (magazine) - p.33
Ranked #20 in Uncut's '50 Best Albums Of 2011' -- "The sort of album one imagines Woody Guthrie would have made in 2011."


  • 1.No Banker Left Behind
  • 2.El Corrido De Jesse James
  • 3.Quick Sand
  • 4.Dirty Chateau
  • 5.Humpty Dumpty World
  • 6.Christmas Time This Year
  • 7.Baby Joined the Army
  • 8.Lord Tell Me Why
  • 9.I Want My Crown
  • 10.John Lee Hooker For President
  • 11.Dreamer
  • 12.Simple Tools
  • 13.If There's a God
  • 14.No Hard Feelings

Product Description:

Audio Mixer: Martin Pradler.
Recording information: Drive-By Studios, North Hollywood, CA; Ocean Studios, Burbank, CA; Wireland Studios, Chatsworth, CA.
Photographers: Jacques DemĖ†tre; Susan Titelman; Paul Turonet; William Reagh; Vincent Valdez.
Songwriter and guitarist Ry Cooder digs deep into the American psyche with Pull Up Some Dust and Sit Down. Inspired by a headline he'd read about the Wall Street bailout, and those who profited most from it, Cooder composed the album's opening track, "No Banker Left Behind," in a style not heard since his earliest recordings. It would have been right at home on his self titled debut or Paradise and Lunch. While not a concept recording, it is an album that reacts to the times topically.Its songs are declarative, sometimes angry, yet display his requisite humor and irony.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 29 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Ry Cooder

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 93,388
  • UPC: 075597976830
  • Shipping Weight: 0.18/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)