Bob Dylan Self Portrait

Self Portrait
100 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
SALE: $5.97
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
or Mix & Match 10 CDs for $49.90
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  SSP 89914
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1989
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 9/3/70, p.40
"...another musical explosion for Dylan, a breaking out from the constraints of his past work....Dylan has adapted a new sound, and with it has explored relationships and emotions that are no longer elemental, but which approach the complexity of life.."


  • 1.All the Tired Horses
  • 2.Alberta #1
  • 3.I Forgot More Than You'll Ever Know
  • 4.Days of 49
  • 5.Early Mornin' Rain
  • 6.In Search of Little Sadie
  • 7.Let It Be Me
  • 8.Little Sadie
  • 9.Woogie Boogie
  • 10.Belle Isle
  • 11.Living the Blues
  • 12.Like a Rolling Stone
  • 13.Copper Kettle (the Pale Moonlight)
  • 14.Gotta Travel On
  • 15.Blue Moon
  • 16.The Boxer
  • 17.Quinn the Eskimo (the Mighty Quinn)
  • 18.Take Me As I Am (or Let Me Go)
  • 19.Take a Message To Mary
  • 20.It Hurts Me Too
  • 21.Minstrel Boy
  • 22.She Belongs To Me
  • 23.Wigwam
  • 24.Alberta #2

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Bob Dylan (vocals, guitar); Byron T. Bach, Brenton Banks, George Binkley, Norman Blake, David Bromberg, Albert W. Butler, Kenneth Buttrey, Fred Carter, Jr., Marvin D. Chantry, Ron Cornelius, Charlie Daniels, Rick Danko, Dottie Dillard, Peter Drake, Delored Edgin, Jolie J. Fott, Bubba Fowler, Dennis A. Good, Emanuel Green, Hilda Harris, Levon Helm, Frederick Hill, Karl T. Himmel, Garth Hudson, Lillian Hunt, Martin Katahn, Doug Kershaw, Millie Kirkham, Al Kooper, Sheldon Kurland, Charlie McCoy, Martha McCrory, Barry McDonald, Richard Manuel, Oliver Mitchell, Carol Montgomery, Bob Moore, Gene A. Mullins, Gary Van Osdale, June Page, Rex Peer, Bill Pursell, Robbie Robertson, Alvin Rogers, Frank C. Smith, Maeretha Stewart, Anthony Terron, Bob Wilson, Stu Woods.
Engineers: Neil Wilburn, Don Puluse, Glynn Johns.
Originally released as a 2-LP set.
This willfully eccentric album is among the most misunderstood in Dylan's catalog. It's surely the oddest recorded moment in a career far from devoid of left turns. Dylan himself doesn't even appear on the opening tune, wherein a female chorus repeats a spiritual-sounding refrain over strings and organ. Some of the tunes pick up where NASHVILLE SKYLINE left off, with Dylan crooning over country-ish backup. Elsewhere, he tackles an unusual group of cover tunes, including Gordon Lightfoot's "Early Morning Rain," Simon & Garfunkel's "The Boxer" and the Everly Brothers' classic "Take A Message To Mary."
He takes a relaxed, homespun approach on the traditional murder ballad "Little Sadie." He offers us a glimpse of Bob the bluesman on "Woogie Boogie" and the Elmore James chestnut "It Hurts Me Too." He even covers himself, with a new version of "Like A Rolling Stone." The eclectic outside material and the lack of any anthems for the Woodstock generation to hang their preconceptions on led many to dismiss this album as perversely slight. If you buy into that party line, you'll never know what you're missing.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 100 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Bob Dylan

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 12,899
  • UPC: 886978991423
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Sony Mix and Match CD Sale:

Bargain Audio CDs & Priceless Collection Product Series:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)