John Coltrane Evolution: The Road To Giant Steps (4-CD)

Evolution: The Road To Giant Steps (4-CD)
Sale: $17.96
SUPER SAVINGS: $15.62 Limited Time Only
List Price: $19.95
You Save: $4.33 (22% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  G9H9
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: August 19, 2011
  • Label: Chrome Dreams

Entertainment Reviews:

Record Collector (magazine) - p.91
4 stars out of 5 -- "Trane's 'Slow Blues' and the fiery 'Locomotion' represent the best of this period."
Uncut (magazine) - p.83
3 stars out of 5 -- "[It] does a nice job of illustrating just how many modes Coltrane could turn his hand to in the period immediately beforehand..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Trane's Blues
  • 2.Tenor Madness
  • 3.Tenor Conclave
  • 4.'Round Midnight
  • 5.Soultrane
  • 6.All the Things You Are
  • 7.Dakat
  • 8.Cattin
  • 9.Bakai

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.The Way You Look Tonight
  • 2.Straight Street
  • 3.Chronic Blues
  • 4.I Hear a Rhapsody
  • 5.Epistrophy
  • 6.Ruby, My Dear
  • 7.Trane's Slow Blues
  • 8.Like Someone In Love
  • 9.Traneing In
  • 10.Locomotion

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Blue Train
  • 2.Billie's Bounce
  • 3.Milestones
  • 4.Russian Lullaby
  • 5.Freight Trane
  • 6.On Green Dolphin Street
  • 7.Dial Africa
  • 8.So What
  • 9.Flamenco Sketches

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Giant Steps
  • 2.Cousin Mary
  • 3.Countdown
  • 4.Spiral
  • 5.Syeeda's Song Flute
  • 6.Naima
  • 7.Mr. P. C.
  • 8.Interview (August Blume 1958)
  • 9.Interview (Carl Lindgren 1960)
  • 10.Interview (Miciel De Ruyter 1962)
  • 11.Interview (Miciel De Ruyter 1965)

Product Description:

Arguably the first of John Coltrane's great album masterpieces, 1960's Giant Steps hardly came out of nowhere, as this four-disc set clearly shows. Featuring key tracks with Coltrane working as both a bandleader and as a sideman in sessions with the likes of Miles Davis, Sonny Rollins, Thelonious Monk, Red Garland, Hank Mobley, and others recorded for the Prestige, Savoy, Columbia, and Blue Note labels between 1957 and 1960, plus some 40 minutes of radio and other interviews with the saxophonist, this fascinating collection culminates with the complete Giant Steps album from Atlantic Records. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Product Groupings:
Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for John Coltrane

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 125,246
  • UPC: 823564619828
  • Shipping Weight: 0.33/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)