Meat Puppets Mirage

13 ratings
SUPER SAVINGS: $12.54 Limited Time Only
List Price: $14.99
You Save: $2.45 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  G9FV
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1987
  • Label: MVD Audio

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 3/26/99, p.87
"...Part ZZ Top on peyote, part Grateful Dead on steroids, the guitar-driven trio's eccentric genius emerges on [this] souped-up rerelease..." - Rating: A-


  • Buy for $1.291.Mirage
  • Buy for $1.292.Quit It
  • Buy for $1.293.Confusion Fog
  • Buy for $1.294.The Wind and the Rain
  • Buy for $1.295.The Mighty Zero
  • Buy for $1.296.Get On Down
  • Buy for $1.297.Leaves
  • Buy for $1.298.I Am a Machine
  • Buy for $1.299.Beauty
  • Buy for $1.2910.A Hundred Miles
  • Buy for $1.2911.Love Our Children Forever
  • Buy for $1.2912.Liquified
  • Buy for $1.2913.The Mighty Zero [Demo] [Demo Version]
  • Buy for $1.2914.I Am a Machine [Demo] [Demo Version]
  • Buy for $1.2915.Liquified [Demo] [Demo Version]
  • Buy for $1.2916.Rubberneckin'
  • Buy for $1.2917.Grand Intro

Product Description:

The remastered edition of MIRAGE is an Enhanced CD containing both a full audio program as well as multimedia computer files, including the 1987 video for "Get On Down." Contains five bonus tracks.
Meat Puppets: Curt Kirkwood (vocals, guitar); Cris Kirkwood (bass); Derrick Bostrom (drums).
Includes liner notes by Derrick Bostrom, Marc Weingartena and Joe Sasfy.
Personnel: Curt Kirkwood (vocals, guitar, percussion); Derrick Bostrom (vocals, drums); Cris Kirkwood (vocals, percussion).
Liner Note Authors: Derrick Bostrom; Joe Sasfy; Marc Weingarten.
Recording information: Chaton Studio, Scottsdale (1985-1986); Chaton Studio, Scottsdale (1986-1987).
Photographer: Joseph Cultice.
In 1987, when the Meat Puppets released their first full-length LP after their 1985 gem UP ON THE SUN, the Arizona trio was a college-radio favorite whose raucous, high-energy gigs earned them a modest-sized yet passionate following.
Stylistically, MIRAGE isn't a huge departure from UP ON THE SUN. The Meats continued to mix country and psychedelic influences in their rock-trio cauldron, but the Southern boogie flavor that would become increasingly prevalent on subsequent records began creeping in, notably on "Quit It" and "Get On Down," which also features the gruffer vocal style of later releases. Curt Kirkwood hadn't yet plunged headlong into Z.Z. Top-style guitar heroics; instead, the lambent arpeggios of "A Hundred Miles" and the hyper-speed plucking of "Beauty" are the guitar-lover's moments of choice here. The thoroughly countrified romp "Confusion Fog" boasts some nifty bluegrass-style picking, and an opening line ("I lost my mind/a couple of gals ago") worthy of Hank Williams. The mood shifts between upbeat rockers and more introspective, idiosyncratic numbers like "Leaves" and the title track. Finally, they tear it up on the closing track, "Liquefied," which is as frantic and pumped up as anything in the Puppets' catalog.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 13 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Meat Puppets

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 120,899
  • UPC: 760137527725
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Pop / Rock genre:

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)