Aerosmith Honkin' On Bobo

Honkin' On Bobo
263 ratings
Only 4 copies left
SALE: $5.97
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
or Mix & Match 10 CDs for $49.90
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  SSP 91656
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 30, 2004
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 4/15/04, p.150
4 stars out of 5 - "There is a tightness to this mania; BOBO is a celebratory attack on the [blues] canon..."
Rolling Stone - p.141
Included in Rolling Stone's Top 50 Records Of 2004 - "[T]he Boston legends tear through classic cuts..."
Q - p.94
3 stars out of 5 - "[They've] gone back to their roots with a set of blues and early R&B covers that has these fiftysomethings sounding almost as fresh as on their '73 debut."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.106
3 stars out of 5 - "Claustrophobic yet utterly captivating, singer Jamie Stewart shares his demons with us in a series of stunning, cathartic hits."


  • 1.Road Runner
  • 2.Shame, Shame, Shame
  • 3.Eyesight To the Blind
  • 4.Baby, Please Don't Go
  • 5.Never Loved a Girl
  • 6.Back Back Train
  • 7.You Gotta Move
  • 8.The Grind
  • 9.I'm Ready
  • 10.Temperature
  • 11.Stop Messin' Around
  • 12.Jesus is On the Main Line

Product Description:

This is an Enhanced CD, which contains both regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files.
Aerosmith: Steven Tyler (vocals, harmonica); Joe Perry, Brad Whitford (guitar); Tom Hamilton (bass); Joey Kramer (drums).
Additional personnel: Tracy Bonham (vocals); Johnnie Johnson (piano).
Producers: Steven Tyler, Joe Perry, Jack Douglas, Marti Frederiksen.
Personnel: Steven Tyler (vocals, harmonica, background vocals); Joe Perry , Brad Whitford (guitar); Joey Kramer (drums).
Audio Mixer: Marti Frederiksen.
Recording information: Pandora's Box; The Boneyard; The Bryer Patch.
Photographer: Ross Halfin.
With HONKIN' ON BOBO, Aerosmith takes a break from radio-ready fare to record an album that pays tribute to the blues influences that have always been close at hand for the group. Further enhancing the sound of this project is the presence of storied pianist Johnnie Johnson (on two tracks) and Jack Douglas, the producer for many of Aerosmith's classic 1970s albums.
The result is the typical 'Smith sass and shimmy, with a contemporary sensibility applied to nuggets plucked from the songbooks of Willie Dixon (the sleazy strut "I'm Ready"), Sonny Boy Williamson (a rollicking "Eyesight to the Blind"), and Little Walter (the Howlin' Wolf-flavored "Temperature"). Throughout the record, Joe Perry and fellow fret-bender Brad Whitford play with a dirty, fuzz-guitar tone, perfectly complemented by Steven Tyler's equally rough-and-rowdy forays on the harmonica. As a result, these Boston natives do a stellar job with fiery renditions of Big Joe Williams's "Baby, Please Don't Go" and Mississippi Fred McDowell's "You Gotta Move," proving that they can still rock hard while playing the blues.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 263 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Aerosmith

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 39,569
  • UPC: 886979165625
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Bargain Audio CDs & Priceless Collection Product Series:

Rock & Pop: Hard Rock Music Categories:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)