The Business No Mercy For You

No Mercy For You
4 ratings
Price: $10.78
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  FHDJ
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: October 1, 2004
  • Label: Burning Heart


  • 1.Takers & Users
  • 2.Guiness Boys
  • 3.Steal This Record
  • 4.Code Red
  • 5.Hate K.D.
  • 6.Belmarsh
  • 7.Boys Are Out Tonight
  • 8.Class Compromise (...History's Glory)
  • 9.No Mercy For You
  • 10.Gangland
  • 11.Oi the Poet
  • 12.Ghetto Youth
  • 13.Always
  • 14.Anarchy in the Streets
  • 15.U Won't Change Me
  • 16.Hell 2 Pay

Product Description:

The Business: Micky Fitz (vocals); Steve Whale (guitar); Lol Proctor (bass guitar); Mick Fairbarirn (drums).
Additional personnel: Daryl Smith (background vocals); Paul Mooney.
Recording information: London, England.
Photographer: Steve Whale.
Unknown Contributor Role: Mike Fitz.
Age and anger make for uncomfortable bedfellows; as the year's pass, fury turns to cynicism, while potent polemics sag into bitter diatribes. By rights, the Business should have been snuffed out long ago, or become a mere parody of their former selves, the punk equivalent of the token chirpy cockney of every WWII film. ("Ohmigod, the Nazis killed Eddie!" "Those bastards!!") Yet after all this time, the group still look at the world with the same bright eyes and bushy tails as they did back in 1980. Somewhere along the road, the Business picked up the mantle dropped by Sham 69, brushed it off, made some alterations, and stormed along undaunted; all ripping, riffing hardcore, fist in the air, boots to the bum, and lungs shouting out the anthemic choruses. The rise of the new school has merely buffed their edges, the melodies are now a bit stronger, the hooks more barbed, but the basic attitude remains unchanged. The group still have the capacity to be outraged by events happening around them, and, although many of their themes are provincial, "Guinness Boys" and "Gangland" both dissect working class and, more specifically, East End life, they definitely have a universal appeal. "Belmarsh" may refer to a specific prison and "Anarchy in the Streets" responds to a London riot, but the settings could equally be a Turkish jail and the leafy avenues of Seattle. "Ghetto Life," with its message of pride, is equally pertinent around the world. The working class battles on with dignity, intelligence, and flashes of wit. And while the title track is pretty pessimistic, "Oi the Poet" is their true manifesto. "I may have nothing, but I shine twice as bright as you," is a message that gives the underclass everywhere a sense of purpose and hope. ~ Jo-Ann Greene

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Business

Product Info

  • UPC: 045778201822
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)